Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2020, 12:58 AM   #1
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,975
Talking Could all new PC motherboards only require a primary 12V rail?

This is a possibility, but future PC motherboards could only require a single 12V primary rail with +3.3V/+5V (-12V is only required for PCI slots (and certain cards thereof) but not PCI Express slots) switching regulator circuitry (which is now quite compact for their high output) on the motherboard with SATA power output connectors on the motherboard.
Most newer ATX (and related counterpart) power supplies over a certain wattage typically have a single primary rail of +12V which is then connected to independent +3.3V/+5V/-12V switching regulator modules; also, many hot swap server PSUs have a single primary rail of +12V.
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 07:34 PM   #2
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,969
Default Re: Could all new PC motherboards only require a primary 12V rail?

Some computer manufacturers already do that. My parents have a goofy oddball Dell like that. That means that I need a SATA power cable for the 2.5" bays so I can install an SSD "properly" instead of throwing it in the 3.5" bay.

Last edited by lti; 07-10-2020 at 07:37 PM..
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 08:36 PM   #3
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 1,772
Default Re: Could all new PC motherboards only require a primary 12V rail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
Some computer manufacturers already do that. My parents have a goofy oddball Dell like that.
Many OEMs are doing that now. Dell, HP, and Lenovo have all been doing it for several years now (and of course all with their own proprietary connectors that aren't compatible with each other).
dmill89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?