Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Printers, Copiers, Scanners and other Imaging & Printing Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2015, 09:31 AM   #1
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

Need help just bought this cheap Laser printer.
They all now come with these chips to limit refilling.

Anyway I remove the chip but it has this black blob over the chip. I was hoping to remove the black stuff off to see what chips it uses to read the contents.

I tried heating it up with heat gun a bit and it does not melt at all, it's rock hard.

I have a EETools Topmax programmer, but without any info on what the 4 pins do, don't know if I will be able to read the chip information.

What I'm asking is has anyone have any ideas ho to tackle this.

attached pic of chip
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3182668.attach.jpg (563.3 KB, 192 views)
File Type: jpg 3182670.attach.jpg (527.3 KB, 163 views)

Last edited by DJ_MIX; 09-16-2015 at 09:34 AM..
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 10:17 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,699
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

there is probably nothing but silicon under those blobs.

if you want to do this, start by working out what the contacts are.
find the ground, then find the supply voltage.
after that probe the remaining 2 to see what interface it is.
probably IC
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:02 PM   #3
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I guess I can find VCC, and GND from the printer itself??
from the pogo pins that touch the chip?

Last edited by DJ_MIX; 09-16-2015 at 01:16 PM..
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:14 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,699
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

exctly - maybe even follow the tracks back to the controller.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 01:17 PM   #5
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

Ok great Thanks.
I uploaded I2C Pin out. Most likely will need to find SDA and SCL.

I should be able to this with my EETools topmax programmer. Never dealt with I2c chips, so all new to me
Attached Images
File Type: jpg imagesCAJMVIM8.jpg (6.0 KB, 139 views)

Last edited by DJ_MIX; 09-16-2015 at 01:18 PM..
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:29 PM   #6
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

OK got some voltages and found Ground.
This weekend I will try to hook it up to my programmer and see what happens
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pins.jpg (548.5 KB, 132 views)
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 12:19 PM   #7
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I give up on this project. Without knowing what chip is on that board. it's very difficult to read contents with my eeprom reader.
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 12:49 PM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,699
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

because you need a logic analyser.
like the saleae
(or better yet, a chinese ebay clone!)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 07:33 PM   #9
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

with this logic analyser, what would I be able to see?
I dont see how it would help me figure out what chip is on that toner chip

This is all new to me so bare with me. Any links on this subject is helpful.

I assume the chip is on that tiny board or is it on the printer.
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:37 AM   #10
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

Added Pics of Printer Board. Can anyone identify what type of chip 423K3 is?
Only other chip I found on this board that may be helpful is the bios Chip MX 25L6406E.

Maybe the toner count is stored on this chip? Either way I plan to dump the chips contents. Maybe after the toner is empty I'm going to restore the dump back to chip and see if that sets the toner count back to original. If that works I will hard wire it with connector for future restores.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20150922_060611.jpg (817.8 KB, 164 views)
File Type: jpg 20150922_060632.jpg (727.8 KB, 117 views)
File Type: jpg 20150922_060641.jpg (984.5 KB, 108 views)
File Type: jpg 20150922_061532.jpg (1.09 MB, 99 views)

Last edited by DJ_MIX; 09-22-2015 at 05:45 AM..
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 11:16 AM   #11
khoalam
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

Hi, I don't know if anyone still working on this toner chip, but I have some information to share. The protocol used for the toner chip is indeed I2C. I have confirm this with my oscilloscope. The printer will issue a Write request for Address 0x5b when the lid is closed.
Attached Images
File Type: png pantum_i2c.png (41.4 KB, 166 views)
khoalam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 10:39 PM   #12
zdm900
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: TC, MN
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

Any progress? Would love to help in any way possible!
zdm900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 04:08 PM   #13
geekgirl1111
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Philadelphia pa
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

What chip re-setter can I use for the Pantum chip?
Most are for epson..
Thanks!!
geekgirl1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2016, 02:45 PM   #14
wolvmarine
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bristow
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I had just added toner to the cartridge and now its saying its low 4%. Looks like I tripped something when I opened it. Has anyone gotten any further on this project?

If not is there a good cheap laser jet that can be refilled properly?
wolvmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 06:39 PM   #15
geekgirl1111
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Philadelphia pa
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I'm at the same place. Says 4% and expected pages 671 actual pages printed 350. I just put new toner from Amazon in. I saw someone said to leave it off for a few days. So it's off right now. I'm looking at the original pics of the chip and trying to figure it out from the visible parts of the circuit board. VCC is plainly labeled. 1v??
I read that it reads the density of the toner for the %. Hummm...
A review said that when it's down to 0 it will stop printing, so I'm not going to try printing until think Of something. Didn't look at the control board pics yet, or open the thing. I'm going to use wire shark to see whats being sent.
Page count has to be a simple adder.
From youtube, It seems that all this info is on the chip.
Have to go back to my books to see how to reset an adder, or if anyone current in this stuff can post about adders if it's relevant.
I don't have a logic analyzer just a chip test board.
I was doing a search on "Bichon" chips but nada.
I'm might use wire shark to see whats being sent over. Probably no useful info.
There are chips available. One place has them. I didn't see the price.
Any body know how to build chip resetters if we figure out the chip?
geekgirl1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 07:04 AM   #16
tuskiomi
The thinker
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: MN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC @ 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I'm going to hook up an I2C Sniffer some time today, and see just exactly what the printer is trying to do when it prints.
tuskiomi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 11:00 PM   #17
geekgirl1111
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Philadelphia pa
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I did a capture with wire shark while on wifi, but didn't have a chance to look at it.
Found an Arduino clone on sale for $10 and that they had a basic Ras Pi board for $5.
Got both and a few library books. Gonna try a hex dump. This weekend...
Has to be a way to just reset a simple adder or shift register.
And make the "allowed #of pages" increase to its max..
Now... how is the toner # generated??
geekgirl1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 04:27 PM   #18
tuskiomi
The thinker
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: MN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 VAC @ 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

the pinout of the chip is as follows:
(corner notch)
VCC (+3.3V logic)
SCL
SDA
GND

Here is an I2C device scan dump:

I2C device found at address 0x06 !
I2C device found at address 0x07 !
I2C device found at address 0x0E !
I2C device found at address 0x0F !
I2C device found at address 0x16 !
I2C device found at address 0x17 !
I2C device found at address 0x1E !
I2C device found at address 0x1F !
I2C device found at address 0x26 !
I2C device found at address 0x27 !
I2C device found at address 0x2E !
I2C device found at address 0x2F !
I2C device found at address 0x36 !
I2C device found at address 0x37 !
I2C device found at address 0x3E !
I2C device found at address 0x3F !
I2C device found at address 0x46 !
I2C device found at address 0x47 !
I2C device found at address 0x4E !
I2C device found at address 0x4F !
I2C device found at address 0x56 !
I2C device found at address 0x57 !
I2C device found at address 0x58 !
I2C device found at address 0x59 !
I2C device found at address 0x5A !
I2C device found at address 0x5B ! (Mentioned by khoalam
I2C device found at address 0x5C !
I2C device found at address 0x5D !
I2C device found at address 0x5E !
I2C device found at address 0x5F !
I2C device found at address 0x66 !
I2C device found at address 0x67 !
I2C device found at address 0x6E !
I2C device found at address 0x6F !
I2C device found at address 0x76 !
I2C device found at address 0x77 !
I2C device found at address 0x7E !
tuskiomi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 10:03 AM   #19
DJ_MIX
Member
 
DJ_MIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I'm glad someone is also interested in this.
Right now I ran out of toner, so it's in the closet.

Back to my old trusty samsung laser that has no reset chip
DJ_MIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 07:28 PM   #20
geekgirl1111
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Philadelphia pa
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pantum P2502W Toner Reset Chip help

I removed the Pantum software and only have the driver. Says low toner but still printing.
Says i still have about 200 pages to go.
Reload the toner outside with a mask. I read how bad that stuff is in your lungs. Its carbon and fine plastic granules that will melt into your lungs.
What clock speed did you get for the chip?
So 0x5B is the chip address in the printer?
geekgirl1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?