Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2005, 02:39 PM   #1
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Willawake says : Sorry dood, i edit your post to say that this is the discussion about the psu pictorial thread. if you want to say it, please say it here.

Last edited by willawake; 01-07-2006 at 04:15 PM..
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 06:30 PM   #2
cods69
Member
 
cods69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Quote:
Originally Posted by japlytic
ABS-6G76 satellite receiver
MDS STB3110 satellite receiver
Topfield TFPVR5000t
Hey japlytic.

I have had a Topfield TFPVR5000t since March04. (The Toppy is the best toy EVER, IMHO)
What is your opinion of the PSU and the caps on it, and the caps on the main board for that matter?
I notice alot of them are "Sam Young", while the big one is a "Sam Wha".

I open it up regularly for HD removal/quick-transfer (I've got a WD250 in it) and do a quick visual inspection of the caps each time, just for safe measure.

Last edited by willawake; 01-07-2006 at 04:17 PM..
cods69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 09:27 PM   #3
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,956
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Quote:
Originally Posted by cods69
Hey japlytic.

I have had a Topfield TFPVR5000t since March04. (The Toppy is the best toy EVER, IMHO)
What is your opinion of the PSU and the caps on it, and the caps on the main board for that matter?
I notice alot of them are "Sam Young", while the big one is a "Sam Wha".

I open it up regularly for HD removal/quick-transfer (I've got a WD250 in it) and do a quick visual inspection of the caps each time, just for safe measure.
I had mine since early 2005. Topfield must have later gone onto the cheaper Samxon capacitors for the mainboard, compared to your earlier one. The components in the power supply were quite decently sized, and has been fine for over a year, despite running a little hot.

Last edited by willawake; 01-07-2006 at 04:18 PM..
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 06:00 AM   #4
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

I've had bought 300W Maxpower/Everpower PSU as a replacement for SkyHawk 250W - but it was weaker and the voltages were bad - so I promptly bought DTK PTP-3007 and sold that crap.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 02:34 PM   #5
Oklahoma Wolf
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Saskatchewan
Posts: 341
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

my 250W Channel Well CWT-250ATX is approximately 12 years old. This PSU is so old, the 92mm fan blows into the computer case instead of into the PSU.

Primary caps are 470uf Matsushita, secondary side is a forest of Fuhjyyu... not one appears bad. This PSU was in regular use up until a month ago.

Last edited by willawake; 01-07-2006 at 04:21 PM..
Oklahoma Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 04:20 PM   #6
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Can't be 12. There was no ATX before 1997 (IIRC). And I see "98" on the transformer.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 04:43 PM   #7
Oklahoma Wolf
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Saskatchewan
Posts: 341
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

I guess '98 would be about right - I only got that unit and a 10gb IMB hard drive a year ago in exchange for a Fujitsu 6.4gb hard drive. It belonged to a friend, who bought the case it came in well before I'd even met him.

As it turned out, the IBM was DOA so I'm not sure I got the better part of that bargain
Oklahoma Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 07:20 PM   #8
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Notice the nice substantial heatsinks on the Deltas (and O/P trannies) and the Sparkle? Ya gotta keep the junction temps on those O/P rectifiers and power MOSFETS (possibly power transistors in the Sparkle) within reason. The power ratings are real on those.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 11:16 PM   #9
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Did you also notice what appears to be a large burnt spot on the above Sparkle? I only noticed it after I posted the picture here... As far as I know, the PSU is still operating normally.
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 06:46 AM   #10
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 945
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Quote:
Originally Posted by dood
Did you also notice what appears to be a large burnt spot on the above Sparkle?
Was it caused by the larger resistor that's standing up? Because in either a 300W or 350W Fortron/Sparkle, I found that such a resistor was dissipating almost exactly its max power rating, either 5/8W or 1W. Aren't resistors supposed to be rated for at least twice their operating power?
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 12:42 PM   #11
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Yes, I did see that. It looks like a 1W or (more likely) 2W. It could be disspating its rated power or a bit more, or it may simply be mounted too close to the PCB. Normal design practice at places I've worked at was to mount resistors 1/2W and higher spaced off the PCB to avoid scorching the board. Good design practice would be to use resistors at ~70% or less than their reated power (taking into account the operating ambient temp. US mil-spec requires 50% max.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 12:53 PM   #12
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson
L&C DR-A300ATX, 300w, +5v 30a, +12v 10a, +3.3v 20a. +5v & +3.3v 160w max. 470uf VIVA primaries, secondary side Jun Fu & Rulycon, 2 caps and fan missing due to started recap work...

You're going to recap an L&C?

Since there is no ugly integrated-into-PSU-case fan grill on that, does it use a removable wire fan grill?

Please post the after-the-recap photo of that L&C after you recap it.
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3GHz Six-Core CPU (Socket AM3)
ASUS M4A77TD AMD 770 AM3 Motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 Graphics Card
G.SKILL Value Series 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD (x2)
WD Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-750M 750W ATX12V v2.32 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Antec Three Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 03:35 PM   #13
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,259
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newbie2
You're going to recap an L&C?

Since there is no ugly integrated-into-PSU-case fan grill on that, does it use a removable wire fan grill?

Please post the after-the-recap photo of that L&C after you recap it.
Nahh, it was just for fun... And to have an emergency extra PSU at hand...

I already recapped it, See here...

The missing fan was because I put a 92mm fan in the bottom of the PSU instead, to reduce noise. And because the 80mm one started to fail and I had a 92mm one just on my bench

That PSU came from a real cheap case, has powered a friends comp a few months before he got a real PSU, and after that my brothers till the caps failed and it would no longer turn on...
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 02:19 PM   #14
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

FSP700-80GLC power supplies as research have shown are 700W power supplies.
Maybe they used the board for the FSP700-80GLC but changed the components?

Last edited by willawake; 01-07-2006 at 04:33 PM..
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 02:27 PM   #15
Oklahoma Wolf
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Saskatchewan
Posts: 341
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

Probably. The protection circuitry board is also marked "FSP700-60GLN." Not that I need the extra power

The OST caps worry me a bit though.
Oklahoma Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 08:09 AM   #16
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

The heatsinks in the 300W P/S are larger than the 400W? Puhlease! And there is no fring way those heatsinks in the "600W" unit are good for 600W continuous! 200W continuous might be pushing your luck.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 08:22 AM   #17
Oklahoma Wolf
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Saskatchewan
Posts: 341
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

I trust Fortron to rate their units more or less accurately - this one's supposedly 85% efficient, so the sinks wouldn't need to be quite as big as my maybe 65% efficient 530W with monster heatsinks. I've seen Tom's Hardware pull the full 700W from Aopen's version of the FSP700-80GLN too without issues. The sinks in that one are even smaller to allow the 120mm fan. Not sure about the 600W rating myself, but I am quite sure it'll do more than 200W.

Forgot to mention earlier that topmost sink is bolted to the case. I really need a digital camera
Oklahoma Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 07:20 AM   #18
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

(referrng to the FSP460-60PFN) Holy packed, man! Does air actually flow through that? Sorry... I just had to comment...

Last edited by willawake; 01-07-2006 at 04:35 PM..
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 08:52 AM   #19
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial

looks like my fsp300-60gt.
7 years of 24/7/365 and the yec caps are just starting to go.
not bulging or leaking.just more ripple than i like to see.wasnt causing a problem yet but i will recap anyway.found during a routine cleaning and pm .
confirms that bad qc may be the reason for bad caps.yec are well known crap but we have some here with lots of hard hours on them that are just now failing.
btw i see a few fsp psu on sale at 22.00.
i think the store ordered some so expect a full report :-)
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 02:34 PM   #20
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Power supply build quality pictorial DISCUSSION

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson
Enermax EG365AX FMA, 353w, +5v 32a, +12v 26a, +3.3v 32a. +5v & +3.3v 185w max. 220uf Hitachi primary cap, secondary side Pce-Tur, no bulging after years of use...
That's some good 350W power supply, but the pictures were a bit big.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?