Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > ECS - EpoX - Gigabyte
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2019, 07:39 AM   #1
harounHD
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
City & State: ain oulmene
My Country: Algérie
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default gigbyte h61m s2pv 2.2

hello guys i have a gigbyte h61m s2pv 2.2
restarting by itself without showing any picture
i reflashed the bios chip
i checked on voltage near ram
there is a mosfet who has 12 v on gate
but this 12 v is coming and going fast


harounHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 04:48 AM   #2
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 895
Default Re: gigbyte h61m s2pv 2.2

Probably shorted MOSFET in the CPU phase.

Place black on gate and test res on both pins for each MOSFET. Ruled out a dud FET on a H55M-S2V.
__________________
Main rig:
ASUS H61M-A
Core i3-3220 3.30GHz
MSI Twinfrozr GTX 750Ti 2GB GDDR5
6GB DDR3-1066
Samsung SH-224AB DVD-RW
Raidmax RX-500XT (recapped)
Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB
JNC RJA-52 case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 09:05 PM   #3
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: gigbyte h61m s2pv 2.2

Shorted MOSFET typically trips the PSU into lockout. So I don't think that would be the problem here.

Would try all the usual easy stuff first: minimal hardware, known good PSU + RAM + CPU, test all memory slots individually one at a time, CMOS reset + new battery, flex board near CPU socket, and so on. If none of these help, then start measuring voltages to possibly get a clue what might be going on. Sometimes, voltages at certain rails simply won't show up due to other hardware not working (i.e. if for example the CPU doesn't detect properly or the RAM, the mobo may signal the system to halt / not ready state, which could turn off some of the voltage rails... and hence why you might not see a rail come up.) So just keep that in mind before concluding that since a voltage is not present on certain rail that a MOSFET is bad. In many cases, it won't be.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 06:47 AM   #4
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 895
Default Re: gigbyte h61m s2pv 2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Shorted MOSFET typically trips the PSU into lockout. So I don't think that would be the problem here.
Not always. My H55M-S2V would simply power on for 2 seconds then stop and repeat the cycle.

Later found out two of the VRM fets were kill (there was visible soot on both of them, and also both drain and source beeped when using continuity mode)

Replaced them and life is sweet now.

Last edited by Dan81; 05-27-2019 at 06:49 AM..
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?