Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2019, 06:21 PM   #21
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,772
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

no idea about the mosfet.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 10:28 PM   #22
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Oh right, forgot about the power switches. I should place an X cap across them like I've seen in other devices which use a physical switch to switch transformers (see audio amps).

So I should keep the resistor/cap idea after all.
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 11:21 PM   #23
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Do you 220V guys always use DPDT power switches?
North America is 120VAC and SPST switches. Safety codes do not generally allow disconnecting neutral connection in a product.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 12:06 AM   #24
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Thumbs up Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Yes, I believe on just about every device I've seen so far around here that uses a mechanical switch for the mains it's going to be a DPDT to "cut" both wires going to the plug. Makes perfect sense, since you want to isolate BOTH wires. The plugs are not polarized so L and N can be flipped around at the luck of the draw - you have a 50% chance of inserting the L into the N when plugging the cord in

Would THIS be a good way to connect the X-cap ? Or should it go across the switch and not the load ? In that case, I imagine I'd need two: one for each set of contacts. I also have no idea what value it should have - I'll probably just trash-pick one from a drill or some SMPS
Attached Images
File Type: png Xcap.png (4.3 KB, 4 views)
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 12:27 AM   #25
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

I would have a cap across each switch contact. But I am not knowledgeable on the European usual method. I think 10nF is minimum and I use 33-47nF for larger transformers to 1500VA.
My boss yelled at me - "the {DPST} switch contacts are never identical. One opens first and another closes first". So the power off arc could occur at either contact.

From the DPS5020 manufacturer:
"if you use AC-DC converter or transformer coil, please add rectifier (rectifier bridge) and filter (more than 4700uf filter capacitor). If input power supply is unstable, please add LC, L is over 47uH, C is over 2200 uf."

So I think 10,000uF is perfect. The LC filter is probably if you are supplying noisy power from a SMPS. It's poorly translated.
You can see two power mosfets at the IN(-) on the PCB so not sure why.

Last edited by redwire; 05-16-2019 at 12:33 AM..
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 02:44 AM   #26
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,772
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

your boss was almost right.
it would be more accurate to say the tolerances are such that you never know which contact will move first.

the mosfets may be for rectification/reverse protection.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 09:53 AM   #27
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Talking Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

I swiped THIS from "The Key Master" today when he wasn't looking It's the 230v input filter I was talking about.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190516_184009.jpg (733.8 KB, 10 views)
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 09:56 AM   #28
megaraider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Porto
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 149
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
the interface is a serial>usb adapter with a WinChipHead chipset (a damned good chip)
now here is the interesting bit, in the picture it looks like it's already opto-isolated!!!!!
Confirmed:
CH340 serial to USB conversion (standard application configuration)
EL357N phototransistor optocouplers (2 pcs: Rx & Tx)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg USB-InterfaceModule.jpg (643.0 KB, 7 views)
megaraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 10:23 AM   #29
megaraider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Porto
My Country: Portugal
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 149
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

(According to this source)
Not disappointing when pushed to near absolute max output current limit...
Noise stays within acceptable boundaries, and very important no voltage spike.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DPS5020-MaxCurrentRate.jpg (187.7 KB, 5 views)
megaraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 01:49 PM   #30
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

My worry is not damaging the DPS module due to the output on/off mosfets. What is weird about the modules is the low-side ground switch they have.

Stray capacitance on the power transformer means things can float with noise and hum, so I suggest adding a 10nF and 1MEG to give leakage currents a path to earth ground. If things floated say to 50V it would damage the DPS mosfet when the PSU output was switched off. Output switched off -> (-) floats

The DPS5020 has a couple fuses on the PCB. I don't think you need an input fuse - it has F3 on the pcb. F1 I think is for the MCU and display.

This is the circuit I might try.
Attached Images
File Type: png DPS5020_power_supply_001.PNG (68.4 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg dps5020-adjustable-power-supply-50-v-20-b.jpg (257.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg dps5020-adjustable-power-supply-50-v-20-a.jpg (187.1 KB, 3 views)
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 02:26 PM   #31
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Why is the on-board FET a cause for concern here exactly ? The way I understand it is when Q4 in your schematic (which I'll kindly ask you to remind me which software you used to create since I keep asking and keep forgetting ) "opens" (gate goes low) it causes a spike on the input side of the module which can exceed the rated 50v input ?

I see TWO sets of resistor+capacitor: one on the input, one on the output. These act as "quenching" devices so to say ?
Also I believe there's an error with the symbols for the X caps across the switch, as they're shown as electrolytics

Like I said in my original post, I already built a similar unit and I now realise there's a LOT of room for improvement and I'm probably running it improperly there: no arc-suppression on the AC switch, no zener diode across the input terminals of the DPS, no caps on the input and output the way you suggested....I'll probably open it up again and improve it as well, especially since this one is a single transformer setup and don't have to worry about keeping anything separate.

Last edited by Dannyx; 05-16-2019 at 02:28 PM..
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 10:33 PM   #32
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

All you do is measure ACV between each output to earth ground, with the DPS on but output disabled. That will tell you if it's floating at high potential, enough to damage the mosfet.
I take extra care against things floating up or ESD hits to the DPS jacks when I'm connecting things. The mosfet takes the hit. Normally it's not a concern in power supplies because things are always connected both jacks- there is no mosfet switch that can be off. I could be wrong too.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 02:10 AM   #33
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

In the case of my first supply, with the single DPS module, earth ground is not actually connected to the negative side of the bridge rectifier - it's only connected to the chassis of the transformer and that's it. By "earth-ground" I refer to the third prong of the IEC 13 plug on the back, so I don't know if my meter would actually measure anything between this prong and GND. I now realize I should've probably tied GND and that earth terminal together - seems industry-standard. Even better add those Y-caps+1meg resistors you suggested.

I noticed on some Samsung TVs I worked on that cold GND (GND of the 5/12/etc. power rails of the SMPS) is connected directly to the metal frame which is then tied to the earth prong on the mains lead with no Y cap in-between. I definitely remember seeing blue Y-caps on SMPS boards, somewhere in the corners near the metal mounting lugs but I can't remember for sure where they go. I think they're between HOT GND and earth (chassis).

Last edited by Dannyx; 05-18-2019 at 02:16 AM..
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 02:06 AM   #34
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Just received my banana terminals which I'm going to install in the front panel to allow me to stick standard multimeter probes in them. I thought they looked a bit cheap, but they're actually decent. The plastic outer shell that is - I'm not sure about the properties of the metal inside them like resistance and current rating and all that.....
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 05:46 PM   #35
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

The biggest hassle is cutting out the hole on the front panel to fit the DPS module.
I looked into buying a DIN-size square metal punch that can do it, but it's like $400. I wanted one for all those cheap chinese panel meters too.

Russian build of dual DPS unit.
The dummy load resistor is kind of hilarious. It arcs really good at 20A! It's like a long heating element or spring on a 2x4 with some nails.
The fan is not moving on the DPS, so I have no idea what he is doing.
He's using 48vdc 20a smps.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 05:52 AM   #36
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,772
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

mini dremel with a disc and a scrap bar of stainless/spring steel as a guide cuts a clean line.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 06:43 AM   #37
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Must admit my dad is the master metalworker when it comes to stuff like this, since I don't have the skills for precision cuts and measurements....I just suck at them...I'm the kind of guy who measures a dozen times, everything seems perfect, but when it's time to finally make the cut, I F it all up BIG TIME !
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 08:30 AM   #38
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,772
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

if you get a couple of small clamps, 4 bits of thick tape - so the clamps dont scratch, and a hacksaw blade - can be used/blunt/fucked,.

clamp the blade onto the target like a ruler for cutting - using the rear smooth edge - not the teeth edge.
it's spring-steel and will resist most cutters.
then just run a small cutting wheel along it.
just dont go to far.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:44 AM   #39
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,372
Talking Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
and a hacksaw blade - can be used/blunt/fucked,.
Took me a few tries to catch this part, especially the last bit, but I finally got it and started laughing like a retard for some reason

I shall discuss this idea with my blacksmith to make his life easier Those panels the box has are rather thick aluminium...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 03:12 PM   #40
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,772
Default Re: DPS5020 dual power supply build

aluminium is anoying to cut, because it's soft the flakes get stuck in your cutter!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?