Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 04:29 PM   #41
tonyuk
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: uk
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 224
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
Fast response can be had by filing an eBay dispute, it gets a lot more priority.
thanks tom i done that same day so shouldnt take long now
tonyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 04:37 PM   #42
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,779
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

dont know what this is like saw it earlier
http://cpc.farnell.com/1/1/109991-sm...-duratool.html
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 02:22 AM   #43
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
Don't kid yourself. I'm betting most companies won't send you review samples because they don't view your reviews as significant enough. Until you have a blog 1/10th the size of Dave's, I doubt much free will come your way.

Otherwise I'd open a blog tomorrow with free samples from Rigol

a) Please do not use your imagination about how a Business Development Engineer makes decisions?

b) Please start your blog, you can use it as defense against Rigol poor tactics, when it comes down to "service on warranty" in Europe.
There is a German guy with poor humor in the Rigol EU mini-castle.
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 03:25 AM   #44
tonyuk
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: uk
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 224
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

so this is there reply same as the other 3 they sent read bellow


'Dear customer , i have received your ebay message before , If shows SE ,pls make sure all parts connected well first , pls insert the iron handle into the machine first Before send out ,all item pass the check to confirm it works well ,but due to the bump in shipping way ,there may other problem caused if everything is connected well, but still shows S-E, pls check something. 1. use the tweezers and put into the input 2 pins at right side, if the display shows normal. that means the machine is working well. but if it still shows S-E, that means the machine is not working well. it has technical problems. 2. use one wire, pls peel off it and connect the both wire into the input pins. if the display shows normal. that means the machine is working well. AND here is the video to help you how to test it. 1. http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XNjQwOTQyOTA0.html 2. http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XNjQwOTQ1MDcy.html Hope for your suppport to solve it ,thanks'

If you're satisfied with this solution, you can let the seller know by sending a message in the Resolution Centre. If you don't want to accept this offer, we encourage you to send the seller a message with a solution that you'd be happy with.
tonyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 04:54 AM   #45
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 227
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Well, did you do what he asked? What were the results?
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:00 AM   #46
tonyuk
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: uk
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 224
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Quote:
Originally Posted by clearchris View Post
Well, did you do what he asked? What were the results?
yer i done what video said with wire on 2 pins error went but still waiting for them to send me parts i did fix the hot air part myself it was poor solder joints on the board things is takes them 2 days to reply for each msg and still no parts also should the heater light flash on these ?
tonyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:16 AM   #47
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 227
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Oh, sounds like you are on your way to resolution.

Id open up the iron and see if everything is in order. I suspect the thermocouple is broken or out of position. I doubt the heater load is monitored.
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:32 AM   #48
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Blue and yellow wires look to be the leads of the sensor.

Just a simple continuity test at the soldering iron plug up to PCB, is all that is needed so to make your mind of what is happening.

By un-soldering the sensor wires you may measure the sensor resistance, parts exchange will assist if sensor is broken.

The guy in this video he used even more words and examples than what they are needed.
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:20 AM   #49
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiriakos GR View Post
a) Please do not use your imagination about how a Business Development Engineer makes decisions?

b) Please start your blog, you can use it as defense against Rigol poor tactics, when it comes down to "service on warranty" in Europe.
There is a German guy with poor humor in the Rigol EU mini-castle.
I don't have to imagine anything. I know they won't send out free stuff. Fine, I'll email Fluke. Maybe they'll send me a new 87-V. That'd be nice. I'd be sure to talk about it on badcaps all I like. Might even mention it on eevblog! And for just the low price of a new 87-V. How can they lose?

Yeah... whatever.
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 28 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed! -- I repair Pioneer 9G Plasma Main Boards & KRP-M01 Media Receivers (PM me for info)

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 12 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 11 LG LCD/Plasma, 18 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 22 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 10:24 AM   #50
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
I don't have to imagine anything.
Tom it's Blogger is a different person, different strategy, different profession, different target group, different training, different concept.

When others are able to see some value in what you offer, they do respond.
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 02:28 PM   #51
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 961
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Anyone experience a problem where the air stops randomly unless turned up to the full setting of 8? Then it’ll either cut out again when lowering the speed or it’ll work fine.

Would it be the pump that’s going or dirty potentiometer?
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 03:10 PM   #52
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,758
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

could be anything - put a lamp across the pump and see how it responds
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 03:15 PM   #53
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 961
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
could be anything - put a lamp across the pump and see how it responds
I measured ac voltage at the air control and it steadily rises from 38vac on lowest setting to 118vac on highest.

When it cuts out it measures from 28-34vac on any setting except the highest which kicks the pump back on at 118vac
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 03:18 AM   #54
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,758
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

then it could be the pot, or the chip - i think it uses a 555 timer to drive the triac.

my old air station did.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 11:15 AM   #55
caphair
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 961
Default Re: Rework soldering iron station 852D+

I connected a 40w bulb (lowest wattage I had) across the motor terminals and it lights but dimly and doesn’t increase in brightness with increasing air speed knob, only when on full air speed does it get brighter.

So seems like a controller issue. How would I go about figuring out the problem? Weird that sometimes it works. I tried gently tapping on components when it’s acting up hoping maybe a bad solder joint but it had to affect
caphair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:42 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?