Router/Server 2.0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Router/Server 2.0

I've been running the FREESCO package for over 5 years as a router and for 2 years i've also been using the print server functionality with a HP Laserjet 4050. I started with a Fujitsu computer with a P133, 32MB SDRAM, two realtek cards and a TrendNet switch. The Realtek cards failed quickly (i think i went thru six of them in 5 months or so) so i bought a pair of 3Com cards which i still have to this day.

Later on the Fujitsu got upgraded to a 233MMX, and then ~3 years ago a new box came my way. Another Fujitsu. It had a PII-300 and SDRAM slots. It got a Cel 566 on a slotket (highest CPU i had that worked in it) and 256MB SDRAM. I'm quite fond of that machine because it turns the CPU fan off completely when not needed, so it's very very quiet. However, the CPU slot is wiggly and it would sometimes act up after the power went out then restored. So i put the PII-300 back in and it's run alright since, but the network speed is a tad slower than the Celeron 566 (9.8MB/s vs 11MB/s), and when i'm doing heavy traffic on the LAN the internet lags.

I've been long wanting to upgrade my network to gigabit, and also add wireless capability. I don't want a wireless router because they're unreliable as most of you know already, and i can run a bunch of other stuff on my box such as a FTP server, torrent client, NAS... you name it. The box has its own spot and doesn't bother anyone, it's a desktop type case and sits under the desk in the living room. So i have no reason to switch to a wireless router with all its pitfalls.