Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

electromagnetic field therapy

Hi Guys,
    newbie here trying to help a friend out. i apolige in advance if i posted in the wrong subforum.
    I have here a PEMF (pused electromagnetic field therapy) machine from a good friend of mine, who use it to help horses to heal for tendon and bone problem.
    He bought this machine in Germany in the eighties, so there is no diagram available, I cant even find the manufacturer online.
    So anyway, the machine powers up and everything seems to work correctly but, there is no output signal to the pads.
    The machine is supposed to send electric pulses to the pads, the pad has a coil inside, so if a magnet is place next to the pad you can feel the magnet pulsating, but that is not happening.
    After some troubleshooting (i'm just a hobbyist trying to learn as much as I can about electronics) I found a bad zener diode mzp4732 conducting both ways, you can see the bad diode just on top the black cap.
    I ordered, replaced and when I hit the power switch the fuse blew .
    I did desolder the diode, got another one, put it with aligator clips and another fuse blew.
    then I put it in opposite direction trying to check all the possibilities and again another fuse. So for now i'm out of ideas, if anybody can help me with some ideas I would gladly appreciate it.
    Thanks in advance!

Attached Files

Re: electromagnetic field therapy

Moved from General computer discussion.
    sigpic

(Insert witty quote here)

Comment

Are you sure this is a 110V or 220V device?

The zener, (if it's between the two caps and the heatsink) is in series with the neighboring diodes. It seems to function as rectifier/power-feed for the UA78G voltage regulator (on the little heatsink). The diodes would lower the incoming AC to a voltage the Vreg can handle (max. 40V) and something the black electro's could take. What rating are the caps? A shorted zener might over-voltage them.