Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2017, 04:18 AM   #901
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
ignore that firmware - it's done it's job.
now i know how your display is wired, i can make a "real" firmware later.
Thank you stj for your patience much appreciated.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 01:21 PM   #902
turbochris
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Grovetown GA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I'm still trying to figure out how to compile my own custom build. I have a windows 7 computer with WinAVR installed. I have the following files-

TransistorTester.eep
TransistorTester.hex
make_frequency.c
Makefile (16MHz)
Transistortester.h

I understand all the options in the makefile, I just have no clue as to where to go after I make the changes I want.

I'm using the build that stj made for me with the lipo battery warning settings but it only uses half of the screen for some reason. I really want to learn this stuff. I have a second AY-AT kit and the display seems a little different, I want o make a build for that too.
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 01:59 PM   #903
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

You must download the source code.
It's at this URL: https://www.mikrocontroller.net/svnb...ster/Software/
Here would be the example command on a Linux machine with SVN installed:
Code:
svn checkout svn://mikrocontroller.net/transistortester/Software/trunk
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 11:22 PM   #904
MDM3D
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: MI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
the build box is now running - as a room heater!!!
so if anybody wants any custom builds - just ask.
tell me the hardware and anything "custom" needed, and i'll compile it.
STJ could you compile a version for the AY AT color kit with a 20 MHZ clock and a precision reference upgraded? Many thanks in advance! When I tried to compile 1.30m earlier it bricked my tester.
MDM3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 05:40 AM   #905
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,920
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

not sure,
i usually build "K" firmware - that only runs at 8 & 16MHz.
i'v not built Marcus's firmware for a long time and cant test it.
i can try to build it if you want - but no warranty as to if it will run!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 05:42 AM   #906
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,920
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbochris View Post
I'm still trying to figure out how to compile my own custom build. I have a windows 7 computer with WinAVR installed. I have the following files-

TransistorTester.eep
TransistorTester.hex
make_frequency.c
Makefile (16MHz)
Transistortester.h

I understand all the options in the makefile, I just have no clue as to where to go after I make the changes I want.

I'm using the build that stj made for me with the lipo battery warning settings but it only uses half of the screen for some reason. I really want to learn this stuff. I have a second AY-AT kit and the display seems a little different, I want o make a build for that too.
wait a while - the option you need is NOT in any makefile.
i was discussing this with karl the other day - there are options in the code that got left out of the makefile-mess.
btw, i'm now using a 6x8 font - it looks better than it sounds!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 08:15 PM   #907
MDM3D
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: MI
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
not sure,
i usually build "K" firmware - that only runs at 8 & 16MHz.
i'v not built Marcus's firmware for a long time and cant test it.
i can try to build it if you want - but no warranty as to if it will run!
AH I wondered why your output file was named transistortester.hex!!
....and why the makefile looked similar but not the same. Let me do some more reading and see if I can dig up a 16 mhz crystal then I should be able to use your previously uploaded hex file.

Thanks for the prompt reply!
MDM3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 04:13 AM   #908
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEDDIBEAR View Post
Thank you stj for your patience much appreciated.
John
Have been trying to find suitable firmware for the upgrade to 16mhz for my
LCR-T4-H, and down loaded this from a RUSSIAN site, any help would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC06158.JPG (1.84 MB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg DSC06157.JPG (1.97 MB, 14 views)
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 06:26 AM   #909
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,920
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

vext?? never seen that before.
i wonder if it was modified in some way for a lithium power source.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 06:30 AM   #910
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
vext?? never seen that before.
i wonder if it was modified in some way for a lithium power source.
This is the firmware that has given me the vext screen.
LCR_T4StripGrid_Ver736Ru_8x16t_Vext_Encoder_16MHz. zip\

If I could get the english version I think it may work on my LCR-T4-H.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 07:06 AM   #911
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,920
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hm - mentions vext.
maybe it's modded to read voltage from a probe to test zener diodes.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:32 AM   #912
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEDDIBEAR View Post
This is the firmware that has given me the vext screen.
LCR_T4StripGrid_Ver736Ru_8x16t_Vext_Encoder_16MHz. zip\

If I could get the english version I think it may work on my LCR-T4-H.
John
Is there a way of changing the language easily as I would like to give this firmware a go unfortunately it has Russian text.
John
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:00 AM   #913
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,920
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

not unless it comes with the makefile / source
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:31 AM   #914
TEDDIBEAR
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: cullompton devon
My Country: england
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 28
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Have just received encoder and fitted to my LCR_T4_H along with two 10k & two 1k resistors, also changed 8mhz crystal to 16mhz but seem to be unable to find any firmware that will work the \LCR-T3,4_v1.12k_r660_ENC13.zip\LCR-T3,4_v1.12k_r660_ENC13\ works of sorts showing capacity at double the value
and locks up as soon as you move the encoder to blank screen you then have to disconnect the battery to reset it. any help will be appreciated.
John
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC06163.JPG (2.03 MB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg DSC06164.JPG (2.08 MB, 5 views)
TEDDIBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:01 AM   #915
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,920
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i'll see what i can do later
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:10 AM   #916
gabiz_ro
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
City & State: Bacau
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 88
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEDDIBEAR View Post
Have just received encoder and fitted to my LCR_T4_H along with two 10k & two 1k resistors, also changed 8mhz crystal to 16mhz but seem to be unable to find any firmware that will work the \LCR-T3,4_v1.12k_r660_ENC13.zip\LCR-T3,4_v1.12k_r660_ENC13\ works of sorts showing capacity at double the value
and locks up as soon as you move the encoder to blank screen you then have to disconnect the battery to reset it. any help will be appreciated.
John
Did you try this one?
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...&postcount=896
When I reach to PC I can upload version for 16MHz since there is for 8MHz and display double value for capacitors.
gabiz_ro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?