Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 10:17 PM   #21
Shocker
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Albany, Western Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 635
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Still confusing, because KZG/KZJ are known for failing without showing it...
Shocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:31 PM   #22
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shocker View Post
Still confusing, because KZG/KZJ are known for failing without showing it...
Like I said.
Caps can fail a number of different ways.
.
If you want a definite answer then send me about $50k and I'll get some spectrum analyzers and other lab equipment and build a small lab in the back yard so I can see what their chemistry does for certain.
.
Otherwise you're just going to have to live with educated guesses....
.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-

Last edited by PCBONEZ; 02-14-2012 at 10:36 PM..
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:46 PM   #23
Shocker
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Albany, Western Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 635
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

I know...just saying that bulging and measuring good is rather backwards for KZG and KZJ, for which invisible failure is typical.
Shocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:10 AM   #24
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

I think it's probably common.

I don't measure bloated ones. - I just replace them.
I imagine most people do it that way.

So you aren't going to fund my new lab?
If you were ever in town I'd let you use the hot tub...
Every lab should have a hot tub.
All that 'stress' testing,,, you know..
.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:59 AM   #25
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

lol

I think I just got that cap early. Yes, in the end KZG/KZJ fail completely and this is not good for the motherboard / graphics card they are on...
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:01 PM   #26
shazam
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
City & State: OH
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

[QUOTE=REMorgan;153879]Hi Folks,
....

(1) KZG 3300/6.3 - bulging
(4) KZG 1000/16v
(15)KZG 820/6.3 - 2 bulging
...
/QUOTE]

I also have the same problem emachine t5048 (bios flash with last intel fw) with the D102GGC2 board.

looking to replace it with
1x 820uF 6.3v 8mm Samxon GD or nichicon HN
4x 1000uF 16v 10mm nichicon HZ or Samxon GC or Panasonic FM
15x 3300uF 6.3v 10mm nichicon HZ or Samxon GC

What brand do you recommend nichicon or Samxon?

Thanks,

Shazam
shazam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:06 PM   #27
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,063
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Go with the Nichicons. They are considered to be a better brand
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:34 PM   #28
Logistics
Badcaps Veteran
 
Logistics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 619
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Don't forget about UCC's NPCAP lines. Don't have large values when you pass 4v, but their impedance almost dips into the nano-ohm range they are so low.
__________________
Audigy 2 + kX + ASIO, M-Audio Delta 410, SB16 ISA recapped
Logistics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:01 PM   #29
shazam
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
City & State: OH
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
Go with the Nichicons. They are considered to be a better brand
Thank.

will place my order when I can determent what cap i need for my dell 8400 to keep price down.
what i have so far
D102GGC2 board:
15x 820uF 6.3v 8mm nichicon HN
4x 1000uF 16v 8mm nichicon HZ
1x 3300uF 6.3v 10mm nichicon HZ
Dell 8400:
1x 2200uF 10v 10mm nichicon HZ
1x 2200uF 6.3v 10mm nichicon HN
5x 1000uF 10v 10mm Rubycon MCZ
shazam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:35 PM   #30
shazam
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
City & State: OH
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Do you think nichicon HZ (0.006 vs 0.012) with half the impedance will cause a problem?

Last edited by shazam; 08-19-2012 at 06:37 PM..
shazam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:25 PM   #31
c_hegge
Super Moderator
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,063
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

I doubt it. They should work fine.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 08:28 PM   #32
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Hey, remember that board I recapped 5 years ago?

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...0&postcount=18

Well, this computer worked for years on a daily basis without a problem. I maxed the ram to 2GB (yes, this board cannot take 2GB DDR2 dimms..).

Several months ago I had some random BSOD, so I opened the case and found a bulging Rubycon MFZ. I can't blame the cap cause it was sitting under the LGA775 heatsink. I continued using compurer as a file server, then all the electrolytic capacitors on the CPU VRM out failed (3x Rubycon MFZ 680uF 4V 8mm). Computer kept working with some random BSOD, then it couldn't even boot Windows Xp

2 Panasonic FJS 820uF 6.3V 8mm capacitors bulged. I think those 2 caps are the VRM out capacitors for RAM.

I would like to find suitable replacement caps for MFZ. There is no datasheet available for them. Are they equivalent with MCZ? Another problem is that the replacement caps need to be no taller than the original or else they will touch the heatsink.

What a crappy design
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (978.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (807.0 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (453.1 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (548.8 KB, 7 views)

Last edited by goodpsusearch; 11-25-2017 at 08:43 PM..
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 09:56 PM   #33
Wester547
-
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: CA.
My Country: USA.
Line Voltage: 120-125VAC 60Hz.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,136
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

I don’t know if it’s just the pictures, but the FETs (linear regulators, by the looks of it) by those Panasonic FJS look like they were running rather on the warm side. If a system of that age is worth it to you, I’d recommend polymodding both Panasonic FJS in that location and the 3 failed 680F 4V Rubycon MFZs. As far as I know, Rubycon MFZ is supposed to be equal to Nichicon HZ.

Last edited by Wester547; 11-25-2017 at 10:25 PM..
Wester547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 10:08 PM   #34
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Notice that the ram has 2 red leds right where the bulged caps are located. The airflow is blocked by the ram dimms and all this makes it a rather hot spot that cooked those FJs
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 01:07 PM   #35
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Recapped it and works like a charm!

Used 3x Nichicon NA 560uF 4V 8mm polymer capacitors pulled from a dead motherboard to replace 3x Rubycon MFZ 680uF 4V 8mm.

2x Panasonic FJ 820uF 6.3V 8mm were replaced by 1x Panasonic FJ 680uF 10V 8mm and 1x Rubycon MBZ 1000uF 10V 8mm.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (798.4 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (468.7 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (504.3 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (711.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (553.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (181.1 KB, 7 views)
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 01:18 PM   #36
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

Nice, looks like the board has been really really toasty though!
Also take a look at the VRM input caps (right by the parallel port).
They look like they might be pushing their bungs out, as they are standing at odd angles...
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 01:21 PM   #37
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: Emachines - Intel D102GGC2 board

This was just me recapping that board years ago

I tried to install the caps in a way that they don't get all the heat from the VRM mosfets and coils. Looks bad
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?