Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Abit - Asus - Aopen
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2016, 10:10 AM   #41
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,162
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

The black connector on the board or leads with probes soldered to it.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 06:16 PM   #42
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
The black connector on the board or leads with probes soldered to it.
I don't understand ? which black connector....which probe ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 06:19 PM   #43
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Here's the voltage I got on the FETs at the board...
There's a possibility that my buck controller is faulty and it's a clock generator as well...
CLK865J02FLF....the issue is, I can't find datasheet of it...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P5PE-VM FET Voltage.jpg (505.3 KB, 7 views)
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 04:07 PM   #44
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,051
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77 View Post
Here's the voltage I got on the FETs at the board...
There's a possibility that my buck controller is faulty and it's a clock generator as well...
CLK865J02FLF....the issue is, I can't find datasheet of it...
The voltages look good to me, so I don't think the buck controller is bad. Only the voltage at the Source of Q10 doesn't seem right (should be the same as Q6 and Q8). But I think you just didn't measure it properly, because Q11 does appear to have the correct V_core voltage on its Drain.

Anyways, what I am more worried about is all of the KZG caps I see scattered everywhere on the motherboard. Unless you have pulled out each one from the motherboard and checked it for proper capacitance *and* ESR, there's no telling if that's the problem or not. (And also, sometimes an ESR/capacitance meter can be fooled by an electrically leaky electrolytic capacitor, so keep that in mind if you did test all of those KZG caps. In particular, anything that reads over 20% of the nominal capacitance could be leaky).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 06:31 PM   #45
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

which one are the KZG caps ( what color ) ? I haven't tested them with ESR meter, I don't have it yet ....does it mean that I need to desolder them all ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 06:36 PM   #46
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

I have a capacitance meter, it can read capacitance and impedance, but no ability for reading ESR...would it be good enough testing them ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 06:38 PM   #47
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Are you talking about the capacitors on FET filter to Vcore ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 06:38 PM   #48
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

I can pull them out test and replace if needed...
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 07:05 PM   #49
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77 View Post
It was long beep, short beep, short beep
That's an AMI BIOS RAM init failure code...
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 07:06 PM   #50
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

are those KZG capacitors, you're talking about ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20160909_085432.jpg (894.0 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20160909_085444.jpg (617.5 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20160909_085459.jpg (874.4 KB, 11 views)
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 07:16 PM   #51
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77 View Post
are those KZG capacitors, you're talking about ?
Those are the ones! Almost always brown...
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 07:19 PM   #52
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
Those are the ones! Almost always brown...
Are they most likely faulty ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 08:12 PM   #53
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

I've measured some of KZG caps you're talking about...
Measurement in circuit...they give me value...some of them 33K, some of them ..87K...
are they bad ones ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 08:23 PM   #54
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,051
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77 View Post
Are they most likely faulty ?
Well, I don't have X-ray vision so I can't give you a verdict from the comfy seat of my chair... but all I can tell you is that those Chemicon KZG capacitors do fail quite a bit, and sometimes without visual signs too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77 View Post
I have a capacitance meter, it can read capacitance and impedance, but no ability for reading ESR...would it be good enough testing them ?
Impedance and ESR become close at relatively high frequeincies (around 100 KHz), so yes you can *probably* use the impedance on your meter. Speaking of which, what meter is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77
does it mean that I need to desolder them all ?
If you want to test them, YES.
In-circuit readings on motherboards are often inaccurate and/or total garbage. So remove the caps and test. Better yet, if you have good quality low-ESR replacements, just replace those KZG caps and at least be done with that part. Then you won't wonder if bad caps were the problem, at least.

Also, the black caps around the CPU appear to be Panasonic FL (4V 680 uF). Panasonic makes very good caps, but even these can go bad simply because of where they are placed - right under the CPU heatsink. If a hot-running CPU was used, they could be dried out. I recommend getting polymer caps for those positions.

Last edited by momaka; 09-08-2016 at 08:28 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:19 PM   #55
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Impedance and ESR become close at relatively high frequeincies (around 100 KHz), so yes you can *probably* use the impedance on your meter. Speaking of which, what meter is it?
It's atlas LC-45....it can test on 200KHz frequency...but can it be done in circuit ?
What value should I see on it ?

It's easier when it's in circuit...but I'm not sure if the value is valid, because it's connected to other components...
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:42 PM   #56
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Here's the value I got for in circuit test with LCR-45...
Frequency = 200KHz...

Impedance (Z) = -163.1mOhm - j57.69mOhm...C = 1.2 uF
The capacitor value on the label is 1000uF....and it looks like parallel with the other 4...

Any ideas with those figures ?
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 10:01 PM   #57
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,011
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bianchi77 View Post
It's atlas LC-45....it can test on 200KHz frequency...but can it be done in circuit ?
What value should I see on it ?

It's easier when it's in circuit...but I'm not sure if the value is valid, because it's connected to other components...
Of course it is easier to test the caps in the circuit but the result you get will not be right dues to the fact that also have other components connected in parallel with the cap. You can waste lots of time doing short cut.
Why don't you just experiment by measuring spare known spec. caps with your LC-45 to see what reading you get, and then just try removing just one of the paralleled cap off the board and test it and see what you get?
Or get the same set of caps and connect them in parallel just like what are on the board and take the reading and compare to what you get with the reading on the board.
Experiment, Experiment, Experiment to see what your test equipment can really do and understand what you are testing and understand the result.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 09-08-2016 at 10:03 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 11:34 PM   #58
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

Ok...I'll do some experiments with parallel capacitors off the board ...and see the value...
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 11:56 PM   #59
bianchi77
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Western Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 220AC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

I got -155.2 mOhm + j4484 mOhm for 2 1800uF brand new in parallel off circuit...
It might be the caps on mobo are ok...but...I'll desolder one of them anyway as you said...
bianchi77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 01:02 AM   #60
boyebaran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
City & State: tehran
My Country: iran
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 196
Default Re: P5PE-VM question ?

if u change cap and mobo did not work you can check North bridge for disconnecting from board. you can push north bridge hit sink vertically by hand and starting motherboard. better you warm a little under north bridge by hitter before pressing north bridge.
boyebaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?