Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2020, 02:32 PM   #1
nosugartonight
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Bluefield Virginia
My Country: united states
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Wifi signal

Hay. Not sure if This post is in the right place but here it is. My neighbor said I can use his wifi. The signal is weak. I assume it's because of the distance. Approximately 150 feet. Also there are other open wifi but are weak also. Is it possible to extend the antenna wire out of the tv to the outside to a antenna to improve signal strength.
nosugartonight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 03:00 PM   #2
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,336
Default Re: Wifi signal

get yourself a ubiquiti oudoor AP or similar.
CapLeaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 04:34 PM   #3
nosugartonight
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Bluefield Virginia
My Country: united states
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Wifi signal

Not looking for gadgets was just wanting to know if its possible. All smart TVs I've been into. Only have a small piece of metal at the end of antenna wire. So could that wire be extended to the outside, maybe connected to an Ariel antenna or simply to so aluminum foil to pick up better. any thoughts will be appreciated.
nosugartonight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 06:15 PM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,152
Default Re: Wifi signal

no, the losses in the cable will remove anything you gain from a decent 8dB+ antenna
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 06:35 PM   #5
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,040
Default Re: Wifi signal

antennas on the router might help
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 07:36 PM   #6
nosugartonight
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Bluefield Virginia
My Country: united states
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: Wifi signal

Ok. I have routers .Not on his network.
nosugartonight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 07:28 AM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,152
Default Re: Wifi signal

maybe you can use a router in reverse to link to his router.
some have that option, others can sometimes have better software installed.

what routers do you have?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:19 PM   #8
madan1
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Sofia
My Country: Bulgaria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 396
Default Re: Wifi signal

Get a cheap tp-link 740, install dd-wrt and connect it to the other wifi network as a client. After that you can use cable to connect your TV ( and other devices ) to that router or add a virtual wireless network to which to connect your devices.
madan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?