Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2019, 05:48 AM   #1
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Unhappy Ashamed to Ask, Cannot Hook Up Vintage Stereo Correctly, Help?

Like the thread title says, I am not very proud of having to ask for help on this subject...quite ashamed actually...However, I've got an old "Project One" Stereo Receiver & Equalizer...Models Mark 100 & 150...I've had them hooked up and working before, but I guess in my older age I'm forgetting things I used to know how to do. The back of the Receiver has Tape 1 & 2 with "MON" & REC", the back of the equalizer has "Input", then 2 sets female jacks for "Output Fixed Variable", and then "Tape" a set for "MON" & a set for "REC"...(just to be clear when I say "set" I am referring to a L&R female RCA jack. I was under the impression that from the receiver, I was to run Tape 1 or 2 REC to Equalizer MON, and then equalizer REC back to receiver Tape 1 or 2 MON. This is not working for me...Can someone please be gentle and let me know where I went wrong? I really hate asking this question, but I figured this would get the most accurate info available..Thank you so much in advance!
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:05 AM   #2
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,426
Default Re: Ashamed to Ask, Cannot Hook Up Vintage Stereo Correctly, Help?

On the Receiver there would be a Monitor Switch. Put the Monitor switch to the ON position and connect the REC (out) from the Receiver to the MON (in) on the Equaliser. Then connect the REC (out) from the Equaliser to the MON (in) on the Receiver. Usually these are labelled PLAY (in) REC (out) but your have it as Mon (in) and REC (out). This should work.
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:06 AM   #3
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,978
Default Re: Ashamed to Ask, Cannot Hook Up Vintage Stereo Correctly, Help?

"I was under the impression that from the receiver, I was to run Tape 1 or 2 REC to Equalizer MON, and then equalizer REC back to receiver Tape 1 or 2 MON. This is not working for me..." What do mean by not working? No sound? Equalizer has no effect?
Switch on Tape Monitor 1 switch.
REC out jacks of Tape monitor 1 ---> Equalizer Line Input.
Monitor (in) of Tape monitor 1 ---> Equalizer Line Output.
There should be EQ bypass ON/OFF switch on the Equalizer to allow the Eq to be or not to be in the audio signal path.
Your Equalizer should also have a set of Tape Monitor jacks to allow you to hook up tape deck to it.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:18 AM   #4
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Ashamed to Ask, Cannot Hook Up Vintage Stereo Correctly, Help?

OK fellas...I'm ashamed to be back on this topic, but here I go again. I cannot believe I can't figure this thing out...On the receiver I understand that the REC sends the audio signal out and it comes back in the MON, whether its on Tape 1 or Tape 2....On the back of the equalizer I have 3 different groups of plugs....The Tape (MON) in & (REC) out, then Input, and then Output Fixed Variable...I've tried running receiver tape 1 REC to equalizer MON, and Equalizer REC to receiver MON...with no luck....should my receiver REC out be going to the input on the equalizer, then from equalizer output back to receiver MON in? Or did I have it correct on my first attempt? I'm beginning to think one of the devices has fowled....Please shoot me a line in anyone has time/input...Be gentle!
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 05:01 AM   #5
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,040
Default Re: Ashamed to Ask, Cannot Hook Up Vintage Stereo Correctly, Help?

run in out from eq to tape in out on amp . if it doesn't work swap in and outs at amp end .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 05:17 PM   #6
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,978
Default Re: Ashamed to Ask, Cannot Hook Up Vintage Stereo Correctly, Help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbird613 View Post
OK fellas...I'm ashamed to be back on this topic, but here I go again. I cannot believe I can't figure this thing out...On the receiver I understand that the REC sends the audio signal out and it comes back in the MON, whether its on Tape 1 or Tape 2....On the back of the equalizer I have 3 different groups of plugs....The Tape (MON) in & (REC) out, then Input, and then Output Fixed Variable...I've tried running receiver tape 1 REC to equalizer MON, and Equalizer REC to receiver MON...with no luck....should my receiver REC out be going to the input on the equalizer, then from equalizer output back to receiver MON in? Or did I have it correct on my first attempt? I'm beginning to think one of the devices has fowled....Please shoot me a line in anyone has time/input...Be gentle!
Read my post #3 again.
You should also upload the pictures of the panels.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?