Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2019, 02:02 AM   #1
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Howdy All, I have a power board from a Sharp LC-60LE644U TV, the model # is MHC-TF60SP1A...when testing the board output voltage all is well until I reach the LED outputs, on which I am getting nothing with both with the LED's unplugged and plugged in...can anyone tell me what parts on the power board need to be replaced in order to restore power to those LED outputs? Any and all info will be greatly appreciated!
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 10:28 AM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,978
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Please upload good clear pictures of the board and also the pictures of the whole backside of the TV showing all the boards.
"when testing the board output voltage all is well"
What do you mean by that? Are you saying that all the CONTROL Voltages are also present and correct?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 07:39 PM   #3
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

The statement that I made that read, "when testing the board output voltage all is well", was referring the the output voltages the power board was producing on each plug. Here are pics of the backside of the TV and closeups of the power board that is not producing any voltage on the LED output plugs... Included in the pics is a list of the output voltages that were present. I just skipped over and didn't record and info on the ground portion of the plugs, or the portion of the plugs that did not have a wire present. Please let me know if any other info is needed...much much appreciated!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3328.jpg (647.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3329.jpg (609.9 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3330.jpg (670.9 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3331.jpg (622.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3334.jpg (651.6 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3336.jpg (1.81 MB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3337 (1).jpg (497.6 KB, 13 views)
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 09:01 PM   #4
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,978
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

1) You do have all correct Control Voltages (PS-ON, ADJ (Dim), and BL-ON).
2) Are the LED Voltages tested at the connectors done Black meter probe on the chassis?
3) You do have bad cap ECF8 with domed top: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...1&d=1569893900
4) Check the DC Voltage between each Cathode of D7, 8, 9, 10 with ref. to chassis GND.
5) I need good clear straight shots of the whole bottom side of the board after you remove the black shield. https://www.shopjimmy.com/sharp-nqp8...pply-unit.htm#

Last edited by budm; 09-30-2019 at 09:08 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 03:27 PM   #5
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

1. Good Deal on Voltages
2. Yes, readings are taken with black ground probe on chasis
3. I've ordered a replacement capacitor for ECF8, one question though about the replacement...the capacitor on the board is 1000UF/10V, will it be ok if it is replaced with a capacitor that is 1000UF/50V?
4. I tested each diode with both the diode setting and the DC voltage setting. During the diode test, I put the red probe on the anode side, and the black probe on the cathode side, all diodes read between 411 and 481....During the DC voltage test, with the board plugged in and all plugs going to the main board and the LED's plugged in, I put the black probe on the chassis, and the red probe on the cathode side of the diodes, and did not receive any voltage reading at all, they all read 0.0V.
5.Attached are several pics of the underside of the board, some are with a flash, some without, some with a lamp overhead, some without. Let me know if you need closer shots, or if I need to redo anything.
-I really really appreciate the help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3350.jpg (876.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3351.jpg (2.02 MB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3352.jpg (829.6 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3340.jpg (752.2 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3341.jpg (713.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3343.jpg (864.1 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3344.jpg (727.6 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3346.jpg (636.4 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3349.jpg (755.0 KB, 2 views)
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 04:29 PM   #6
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

CF15 on the primary side looks swollen. At 5 years old, if those output caps are not good brands I'd consider replacing the ones that are not obviously bad.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 08:41 PM   #7
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Will it be ok to replace a capacitor w/ 1000UF/10V with a capacitor rated at 1000UF/50V?
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 08:47 PM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,978
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

The caps need to be LOW ESR type, I.E Panasonic FM/FC/FR series, just do not go by the Voltage alone, also the 50V cap will be bigger diameter too.
At this point I would replace the caps as a set with the exception of the Main filter cap in the hot side.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 05:15 AM   #9
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

When I'm looking at the Panasonic FR series capacitor with 1000UF 10V, it looks nothing like the size of the 1000UF 10V capacitor that is currently on the board...As of right now I need 1 - 1000UF 10V capacitor & 1 - 220UF 35V capacitor. I've attached 2 different URL's with each of these specific Panasonic FR capacitors...could you please take a look and tell me if these particular capacitors will work?

https://www.digikey.com/product-deta...7TB-ND/2504131

https://www.digikey.com/products/en?...U-FR1V221&v=10

THNX a Million, Josh
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 06:18 AM   #10
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

I'm sorry, one of those capacitor ratings is incorrect...I'm needing a 470UF 25V and a 220UF 35V. Here are the correct links to the Panasonic FM series. Let me know if you think these will work.

https://www.digikey.com/products/en?...U-FR1E471&v=10

https://www.digikey.com/products/en?...U-FR1V221&v=10
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 10:00 AM   #11
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,978
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

All you have to do is to measure the diameter and height and lead spacing and then choose the closest match.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 12:29 PM   #12
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Knowing the manufacturer and series of the original caps could be helpful in determining what the closest replacements from a good vendor/series would be.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:03 AM   #13
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Knowing the manufacturer and series of the original caps could be helpful in determining what the closest replacements from a good vendor/series would be.
From his photos I could make out the bulged caps being Chong, CD288HE series.
__________________
Main rig:
Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Core i5-3470 3.60GHz
Gigabyte Geforce GTX650 1GB GDDR5
16GB DDR3-1600
Samsung SH-224AB DVD-RW
FSP Bluestorm II 500W (recapped)
120GB ADATA + 2x Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB
Delux MG760 case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:13 AM   #14
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

So I followed some advice posted in the thread and ordered replacement Panasonic FR Series Capacitors, and I have replaced the swollen caps from ECF8 & EC7...after doing so put board back in place with screws, tested all voltages and yet, no volts are present in the LED plugs...any other ideas on why I wouldn't be getting volts delivered to those 2 LED plugs?
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 08:03 AM   #15
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

So Howdy Do Folks? I have not been messing the the SanyoLC-60LE644U for a couple of weeks now after soldering new capacitors in place on the blown 2 caps. One because the capacitor replacement didn't affect the power board volatages, and secondly because I've been waiting to come up with the $ to purchase a new power board, but this morning I went in and started taking some voltage readings...and I discovered something that was previously not noticed...First I plugged in the power cord, powered on the tv, then I went down and took all my volt readings, but still no volts coming from the LED Plugs...So I went through it again..I unplugged and then re-plugged the power wire to the power board, but before powering the TV on and taking volts measurements, I went down each plug with the meter (Before Powering on The TV), to my astonishment, each LED+ pin was reading over 200 volts. I got my hopes up thinking the TV Screen was going to power up, but after plugging the LED plugs into the power board, and then powering on the TV, the volts from the LED plugs were at a 0V once again...Can anyone shed any light on this debacle for me? Is this looking like a problem with the power board? Or maybe the main since the 3 or the 5 plugs on the power board go into the main board? Or something else I'm totally missing? Input and Info shared will be greatly & much much appreciated! I'm at a stand still here. Please let me know what you guys think! I look forward to hearing from you. THNX in Advance! JDB
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 11:08 AM   #16
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbird613 View Post
So I followed some advice posted in the thread and ordered replacement Panasonic FR Series Capacitors, and I have replaced the swollen caps from ECF8 & EC7...after doing so put board back in place with screws, tested all voltages and yet, no volts are present in the LED plugs...any other ideas on why I wouldn't be getting volts delivered to those 2 LED plugs?
Did you also replace CF15, which appears to be bulging (as I posted above)?
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 04:01 AM   #17
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

Yes I did, along with ECF8 too.
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 04:06 AM   #18
jdbird613
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Sikeston, Mo
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35
Default Re: Power Board MHC180-TF60SP1A from Sharp lc-60le644u TV

If the LED plugs on the powerboard are supplying voltage just up to the point when the TV is actually powered on, would this point to an issue with the powerboard you think? Or would this have anything to do with the main board sending a bad signal back to the powerboard and not allowing the LED plugs to
maintain voltage after the unit is powered on? I' totally baffled...I aactually ordered a new power board today, but then I saw how the LED plugs were acting pre and post power on, I cancelled the powerboard order hoping I could gain an insight on what exactly is going on. Any bright ideas out there? All ears here!
jdbird613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?