Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Custom Tweaks, Modifications, and Revisions
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2018, 05:18 PM   #481
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,550
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

It was not a complicated design, but I needed to connect a connector with many pins... on the edge of the board... and having the PTHs would short everything.

Is there a grid between the (tiny) pads? What is the point of that?
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 06:09 PM   #482
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

beats the heck out of me, perhaps to let people to choose using the grid horizontal or vertical. Of course now someone needs to cut all in the orthogonal direction...
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 10:32 AM   #483
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 833
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Do I win the award for the most ghetto thing? hehe

Anyways, this is one of my PS1s I fixed a few days ago.

Extended the laser ribbon cable because the drive I had wasn't for the model I had to fix.

It's a SCPH-5552, about the only ones beside the 7002s to require a long laser ribbon cable. My other two, a 1002 and a 9002, use normal cables. (the 1002 has a slim PS1 laser for example, and these have the right size ribbon)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20181222_182051.jpg (1.04 MB, 37 views)
__________________
Main rig:
DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS, Intel Xeon X5450 3.00GHz, Sapphire Radeon R7 240 2GB DDR3, 8GB DDR2-800, LiteOn DVD-RW drive, RPC 500LBL 500W (rebuilt), AVerMedia Super 009 TV tuner, Samsung HD103SI 1TB, noname black case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 02:55 PM   #484
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.5VAC@60hZ/200A
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,424
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

holy bell wire!
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

For computer parts, go to Newegg
OR
Amazon.

For electrical stuff(pushbuttons, capacitors, etc), use Digikey
OR
Mouser.

Windows 10!? Oh yeah, that sorry excuse of an operating system that spies on you 24/7/365!

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

TVs repaired: Toshiba 32AV500U
Stereo Receivers brought back to life: 1(Fisher RS-1056)
Stereos/Stereo receivers to recap: Fisher RS-1056


TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 03:00 PM   #485
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,550
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Looks like a spaghetti monster is lurking in there

I want to see how ghetto the eye pattern from the laser pickup is with all that!

Last edited by Agent24; 12-24-2018 at 03:02 PM..
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2018, 02:04 AM   #486
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 833
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24 View Post
Looks like a spaghetti monster is lurking in there

I want to see how ghetto the eye pattern from the laser pickup is with all that!
It actually works fine

I tested Gran Turismo 2 and Brian Lara Cricket on it and both loaded fine.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2018, 12:26 PM   #487
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,567
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
It actually works fine

I tested Gran Turismo 2
I like!
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 04:49 AM   #488
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 833
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
I like!
Strikin' again with another ghetto mod.

abit IP35 Pro mobo - replaced one Winbond chip that was bad near the RAM slots. This however didn't change the fact that it would still give error 8.4 and not POST.

You can see the mod here Now it works fine (although that area gets really hot, but that's a design flaw, my older IP35-E had the same hotness issue) although I keep getting 0x7E on Windows discs, but that's another story.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2018-12-26 13.50.45.jpg (650.1 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 2018-12-26 13.51.11.jpg (726.1 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg 2018-12-26 13.52.10.jpg (661.6 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by Dan81; 12-26-2018 at 04:52 AM..
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 08:31 AM   #489
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,567
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Strikin' again with another ghetto mod.

abit IP35 Pro mobo - replaced one Winbond chip that was bad near the RAM slots. This however didn't change the fact that it would still give error 8.4 and not POST.

You can see the mod here Now it works fine (although that area gets really hot, but that's a design flaw, my older IP35-E had the same hotness issue) although I keep getting 0x7E on Windows discs, but that's another story.
BIOS UI reminds me of socket 462, LOL. (And early-2010s' Gigabyte AM3)

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 12-26-2018 at 08:33 AM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 01:10 PM   #490
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

What winbond chip, what determined it was bad?

The picture looks like a bunch of replaced MOSFETs for the buck converter (which doesn't look that ghetto)?
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 01:16 PM   #491
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,550
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Winbond = probably SIO chip. Guess it wasn't generating some required system control signal.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 09:51 PM   #492
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 833
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
What winbond chip, what determined it was bad?

The picture looks like a bunch of replaced MOSFETs for the buck converter (which doesn't look that ghetto)?
An Winbond W83220G, which is a N-channel FET synchronous buck regulator controller.

I found out it was bad because before replacing it, the board kept freezing on POST (with the same bridge applied on FET, as without it the board simply won't boot and stop on error 8.4 which is DDR voltage)

Agent24- The SIO chip is fine.

Last edited by Dan81; 12-26-2018 at 09:55 PM..
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 11:39 PM   #493
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,796
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Do I win the award for the most ghetto thing? hehe

Anyways, this is one of my PS1s I fixed a few days ago.
Yes! I think you do.
That's a lot of effort/time for a PS1 drive, but I suppose why not, right?
I have a microwave LCD that needs a similar kind of fixing - the thermal cable separated from the LCD and LCD is no longer functional. I was thinking of doing something similar to you - just run lots of cables and make my own "pads" on the LCD end. Actually, that project has been sitting on my bench for 3 years now (talk about procrastination, lol). It's for a spare microwave, though. I'll post it when(ever) I get it done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Yeah the radio shack copper ringed perfboard is pretty crappy (FR2 and not plated through).
Yeah, if you're talking about those pair of "square" boards they used to sell, I agree. They do a little better if you put flux on the board and then drag solder / tin all of the traces before soldering your components.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
though I would really rather have a real PCB done, cutting veroboard or adding wire links is a major PITA.
Adding wire links is easy. Just save those extra-long capacitor and resistor leads you clip from new parts. I have a small plastic box full of them, collected from all the years of recapping PSUs with new caps and whatnot. So when I need to make a long trace/link, I just put one of those leads on the board and then drag solder across it. Ends up looking alright, usually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Oh... and do notice I reused this board. I think I used this board for something else, then ripped all the components out and built this on it. I wonder when it comes time for me to disassemble this and build something else
LOL. I did that when I was building my senior project in college - decided to re-use an old Radio Shack square board that had a project before on it that I never finished (as it wasn't needed). The board was even snapped off in two pieces, as that's what I needed for that first project. So after clearing the old components out, I put back the two PCB pieces together and held them at the ends with hot glue. Then proceeded to build my new project on it. Here's a pic of that:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...1&d=1546065485

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
I found out it was bad because before replacing it, the board kept freezing on POST (with the same bridge applied on FET, as without it the board simply won't boot and stop on error 8.4 which is DDR voltage)
That bridge you created essentially shorts Gate to Drain. I imagine this makes the MOSFET stuck On all the time. But it's not a good method, because you are back-feeding whatever chip is supposed to drive the Gate of that MOSFET. If the MOSFET is used just a simple pass-through switch with diode junction, then you're better off placing a jumper across Source-Drain junction. But if it's a buck regulator, this is certainly a bad idea (I see some inductors nearby, so check). In that case, you have to figure what's driving that buck regulator circuit and fix it, as that's likely the cause of the issue.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg senior project - headphone amp complete (5).jpg (229.7 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by momaka; 12-28-2018 at 11:42 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 12:40 AM   #494
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

pretty nice, mine turn out pretty bad. I think this board was also a ripup and reuse, it is now a direct digital signal synthesizer.

Note that a lot of the times I don't cut things really short... in case I need to... rip up and reuse
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ddstop.JPG (55.0 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg ddsbot.JPG (68.2 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by eccerr0r; 12-29-2018 at 12:42 AM..
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 03:17 AM   #495
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 833
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
That bridge you created essentially shorts Gate to Drain. I imagine this makes the MOSFET stuck On all the time. But it's not a good method, because you are back-feeding whatever chip is supposed to drive the Gate of that MOSFET. If the MOSFET is used just a simple pass-through switch with diode junction, then you're better off placing a jumper across Source-Drain junction. But if it's a buck regulator, this is certainly a bad idea (I see some inductors nearby, so check). In that case, you have to figure what's driving that buck regulator circuit and fix it, as that's likely the cause of the issue.
I think it acts as a switch and the other one next to it is the one that is important.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 12:56 PM   #496
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

More nasty handywork... just because I didn't have a case for the DB9...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg birdie.JPG (41.9 KB, 22 views)
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 05:38 PM   #497
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,230
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

lol
so whats in it, a max202 or similar?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 05:53 PM   #498
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,550
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

I think it might be a MUCU5 chip.
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 06:09 PM   #499
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,796
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24 View Post
I think it might be a MUCU5 chip.
Ewwww!!!!!
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 07:55 PM   #500
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,995
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

LOL, yes MUCU5 chip!

Actually no ICs, just two NPN transistors, three resistors, and some wire.

stj probably already got the answer because he saw a LOT of clues scattered everywhere, but the bonus question is: what is it used for (exactly).

Hint is that it doesn't need any additional power source...

In any case, perhaps I need to go over it one more time with a heat gun to smooth out the plastic...

Oh, and no, I don't think this will be torn up and reused like other things

Last edited by eccerr0r; 01-09-2019 at 08:23 PM..
eccerr0r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?