Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > ECS - EpoX - Gigabyte
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2008, 09:18 PM   #1
stevo1210
Badcaps Veteran
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,998
Red face G-Luxon on GA-6VXC7-4X

I found a computer on the street yesterday.... It has a Gigabyte GA-6VXC7-4X motherboard in it and also bundled with a PIII 800EB Coppermine CPU.
It boots fine and loads Windows without a problem etc. But when I opened the case up to take a look, it had a bad cap next to the IDE connector. The cap is a G-Luxon 330uf 25V. The rest of the board has Sanyo caps and they are OK, there are other G-Luxon used in between PCI sots and thats about it.
So I looked through my cap stash yesterday and I found a Hitano 470uf 25V cap in there that fits the position as well, because the diameter is also 10mm. Anyway, can I use this 470uf cap to replace the bulging 330uf cap?? I noticed that from 330uf to 470uf, there's over a 20% difference so I'm not sure about this move.

Thanks.
__________________
Don't find love, let love find you. That's why its called falling in love, because you don't force yourself to fall, you just fall. - Anonymous
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:51 AM   #2
stevo1210
Badcaps Veteran
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 3,998
Default Re: G-Luxon on GA-6VXC7-4X

Never mind.... I went out and bought some Samxon GF(M) series, 470uf 25V caps because they were ultra low ESR and it seems to have done the job.

Thanks.
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:51 AM   #3
linuxguru
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: G-Luxon on GA-6VXC7-4X

Most, if not all, of the 330/25 caps on Gigabyte mobos don't have a voltage greater than 5v across them - they can be replaced by 6.3v caps. If you want to be really safe, you can use 16v caps. The capacitance doesn't really matter - I've used 1000/10 without any problems.
linuxguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?