Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > ECS - EpoX - Gigabyte
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2007, 02:17 PM   #1
Elusive_Cure
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
City & State: Greece
Posts: 10
Talking Just resurrected a Gigabyte Advance 10T

Thanx to your advice here i managed to resurrect a board (Gigabyte Advance 10T-socket 370) i bought in a flea market for one euro. Had three RAM caps fried and a couple more near the PSU socket, replaced them with my good old cheapo solder iron and it works fine. I had some spare p3/celeron chips lying around but no board for them, now i have another guinea pig for my network.....I'll post some photos soon, and will present a HOW-To on my tech blog, as soon as i find time to put the story together...

Cheers guyz...

Last edited by Elusive_Cure; 11-30-2007 at 02:25 PM..
Elusive_Cure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 05:52 PM   #2
shadow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Posts: 725
Default Re: Just resurrected a Gigabyte Advance 10T

Its always nice to hear a successful recap. Congratulations!!!
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 08:56 PM   #3
yanz
Badcaps Veteran
 
yanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
City & State: Dago, Bandung, Indonesia
Posts: 833
Default Re: Just resurrected a Gigabyte Advance 10T

congrats!
__________________
days are so short when you actually do something..
yanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:37 AM   #4
Elusive_Cure
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
City & State: Greece
Posts: 10
Default Re: Just resurrected a Gigabyte Advance 10T

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elusive_Cure
Thanx to your advice here i managed to resurrect a board (Gigabyte Advance 10T-socket 370) i bought in a flea market for one euro. Had three RAM caps fried and a couple more near the PSU socket, replaced them with my good old cheapo solder iron and it works fine. I had some spare p3/celeron chips lying around but no board for them, now i have another guinea pig for my network.....I'll post some photos soon, and will present a HOW-To on my tech blog, as soon as i find time to put the story together...

Cheers guyz...
Update :

The board is a QDI Advance 10B, not a Gigabyte one, and here are some pics from the process…

The Donor board is a Soyo Sy-6BA slot 1 with 4 IDE and 4 Mem slots, a true wonder of it’s time.



the red squared 1000 and 1500 μF Licon caps were bulged







The whole deal took me an hour, i was tired but curious for the outcome. I took out the caps from the soyo board re-practicing my soldering skills, removed the blown ones and made the switch. (next thing is to buy a proper soldering station)




As soon as i finished i booted with a p3 800, 128/133 Ram and a geforce 2. passed the POST with the help of a bios reset, and started booting Ubuntu 6.06.




Now i need to find 5 more socket 370 boards….


Last edited by Elusive_Cure; 12-01-2007 at 06:47 AM..
Elusive_Cure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?