Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Asus X705mb - not turning on

Hi everyone,

I have an Asus x705mb at my hands, that powers on but doesn't start. I read the beginner's guide as i'm not really experienced in repairing motherboards and i can't find the board's schematic but i tried to get vcore voltage, which i'm not sure where to measure, i'll add a picture about this.

The notebook was hit hard in the middle of the keyboard, the housing shows heavy damage, but the board itself looks totally fine.
    The memory used is working, i tested that in another board.
    The CPU produces heat over time, and the fan is running when required.
    Charging works as intended.

My first guess was the bios, so i started with searching for and writing a working dump on the chip. I attached both the original dump and the one that i tried. Unfortunately it didn't help. But caused a minor difference: with the original bios it restarts like every 10 seconds, with the new it doesn't do that.
    Other than that, sata seems to have no power, usb port have, but bios crisis recovery never seem to start.

What i'd like to ask of you:
    - Is the original bios ok or can anyone help me fix it?
    - Schematics if anyone has
    - Ideas, to continue

The board is important only, because the hard drive that was in the computer has bitlocker on it and we don't have the recovery key.

I'm not a professional, and not working in this area at all, but measuring, soldering and coding is isn't a problem and my curiosity about this is just endless.

Thanks in advance for any help!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by SMDFlea; 01-22-2022, 04:39 AM.

Re: Asus X705mb - not turning on

Originally posted by lofaszjancsi View Post
    Hi everyone,

What i'd like to ask of you:
    - Is the original bios ok or can anyone help me fix it?
    Thanks in advance for any help!
    Please post your bios in the "Bios Requests ONLY!" sub forum https://www.badcaps.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40