Conformal Coating on control boards not allowing me to solder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Conformal Coating on control boards not allowing me to solder

i am an appliance tech specializing in digitally controlled washing machines, and am looking to replace This blown capacitor

Problem is, the board has a coating on the backside of it which will not allow me to solder or desolder the bad cap i want to change, ive been hunting up and down, and have come up with a conformal coating remover pen or micro abrasive blasting to be the only methods to removing this coating

and thats why im posting this thread, i intend on staying because im very interested in soldering and learning about this stuff

Re: Conformal Coating on control boards not allowing me to solder

Originally posted by VMWkmdealer View Post
    i am an appliance tech specializing in digitally controlled washing machines, and am looking to replace This blown capacitor

Problem is, the board has a coating on the backside of it which will not allow me to solder or desolder the bad cap i want to change, ive been hunting up and down, and have come up with a conformal coating remover pen or micro abrasive blasting to be the only methods to removing this coating

and thats why im posting this thread, i intend on staying because im very interested in soldering and learning about this stuff
    You do understand that a lot of boards use solder with no flux in it so when you desolder a part use need to apply liquid flux first before you can heat up the joint. If the conformal coating was applied correctly it should not cover the solder joints. If it is covering the solder joints and you only need to desolder one cap you can use an X-acto knife to scrape of the coating just on the solder joints to get to the solder connection.

Comment

try IPA or white spirit.

Comment

fiberglass scratch pen £2 on ebay

Comment

Originally posted by keeney123 View Post