Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Soyo - Shuttle - Supermicro
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2015, 11:30 AM   #1
teratosis
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: austin, tx
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

He there I have a Soyo with an Emax PWR0502204001.

Trying to find the name of the following caps(attachments), but I can't determine what they are.

And the schematic on this page is too small for my bad eyesite.
http://www.emax-co.com/english/produ...23&sup_no=1714

Can someone please help me identify the caps on the attached image?
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png 5823arrow.png (303.5 KB, 35 views)
teratosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 06:20 PM   #2
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

That is not a proper schematic on that page, and it doesn't tell you what the caps are. All it tells you is the physical dimensions of the PCB. You will have to take the board out and see what your one has.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:07 PM   #3
chocolate-fuse
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: London
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

They are 16V 1000uF for anyone coming across this now. I have the same board and these failed, replacing them gave it another 2 years of life.

Now unfortunately it blows the household circuit breaker when connected to the mains so I'm trying to figure out what else has failed on the board!
chocolate-fuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:31 PM   #4
chocolate-fuse
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: London
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

I can't edit my post unfortunately.

Does anyone know what voltage the backlight LEDs run at? I am wondering if I could hook up a 12v and 5v supply to the monitor and use them to directly power the video board and backlights.

Does this sound sensible? I can't find anywhere to get a replacement board.
chocolate-fuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:02 PM   #5
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

3 year old Necro posting, start a new thread give lots of pics and ask a detailed question.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:04 PM   #6
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

FYI if it's blowing a household breaker it because you have too much load on that breaker.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:42 AM   #7
chocolate-fuse
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: London
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Soyo with Emax PWR0502204001 Caps

Thanks, I'll do that.

When I say it blows the household breaker, I mean it gives off a loud bang, the integrated fuse blows across the room and the breaker flips. I presume there is a dead short on my board but my electronics knowledge + multimeter is not good enough to diagnose it. I will make another post in this forum.
chocolate-fuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?