Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Soyo - Shuttle - Supermicro
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,688
Default Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

...bad caps! I was really shocked by this one, its the first Supermicro board that's crossed my bench with bad caps since the 370DL3/DLE P3 days....but low & behold, it was UCC that spoiled it (1000uF 10v KZG).....should have known.... Anyway, its on the record now. Sad sad Day (incase any of you were wondering, I'm a staunch Supermicro fan)!!





Attached Images
File Type: jpg sm_3237.JPG (225.8 KB, 227 views)
File Type: jpg sm_3238.JPG (173.3 KB, 229 views)
File Type: jpg sm_3239.JPG (197.4 KB, 225 views)
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:33 PM   #2
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,619
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

Nothing is bullet proof if not cared for properly (my guess is bad case cooling and those KZG's where they are located would have lasted alot longer.).
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:43 PM   #3
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,688
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

^
I actually asked about that (thought the same thing you did). When the client told me the model and how recent it was, I was having a hard time believing it..... It was in a supermicro workstation case....well vented and maintained.... With the exception of the NRSY mess with SM in the P3 days, every other SM board I've encountered was phased out because it was becoming an antique before it ever broke down. The KZG's just shit the bed like they do for everyone else....
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:47 PM   #4
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,671
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

well, i'd rather it be fixable like caps and not something worse...
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 09:59 AM   #5
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,255
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

is it just the pic or are the ones between the pci slots below the realtek chip bulging too?
no surprise on the kzg.
you would think after the nrsy fiasco they would be more careful.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 10:10 AM   #6
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,688
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

^
Its the pic, there were no others failed. All the rest of the lytics were Sanyo WG series, and there were 3x 1800uF 16v MBZ's. It was just the UCC KZG's that wrecked their day.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 01:21 PM   #7
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,038
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

yeah why the hell would they put all sanyos and just two kgzs?

supermicro still does use kgz's on some of thier budget server boards to this day
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 12:30 AM   #8
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

The only Supermicro boards avaiable in Australia are the expensive server ones, so I've never seen a supermicro board for real.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 07:17 PM   #9
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,224
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
yeah why the hell would they put all sanyos and just two kgzs?

supermicro still does use kgz's on some of thier budget server boards to this day
Some of the budget Supermicro boards seem to be no better than typical consumer boards.
Especially a more recent one that only supports a paltry 2 GB of RAM!
Come on Supermicro!
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 05:03 PM   #10
severach
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 982
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
yeah why the hell would they put all sanyos and just two kgzs?
Because KZG look good on paper. The news from the Internet hasn't trickled up to the engineers yet. Besides, what do those Internet fools know anyways...
severach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 06:55 PM   #11
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,835
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

Quote:
With the exception of the NRSY mess with SM in the P3 days
Can you elaborate? Are you saying that NC NRSY series are no good?
__________________
...Their plight, in fact is even worse, they don't realize that they're cantonists, they think they're free men. What a slavery that is - to confuse slavery for light, and bitter darkness for bright light.
-Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneersohn
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:23 AM   #12
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

^
No, there used to be a knock off of them -branded- NRSY.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 10:52 PM   #13
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,671
Default Re: Supermicro PDSBE with you guessed it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by severach View Post
Because KZG look good on paper. The news from the Internet hasn't trickled up to the engineers yet. Besides, what do those Internet fools know anyways...
Don't worry, once I graduate college and get a job as an engineer, I won't stoop to that level. However, I can attest that most engieneers are clueless about bad caps, gutless wonders, and anything "pratical" of this nature.

Like thinking a gutless "450W diablotek would do 450W just because "it [or the datasheet} says so". At least for a diablotek it wasn't too bad... still junk IMHO .
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:05 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?