Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2021, 03:48 AM   #1
imboss
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Cape Town
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

Morning All,

I'm trying to repair power supply after roach did it's magic to it. There are two ceramic caps (C24 & C19) both 1nF. I found schematic but do not know what voltage they must be. Please advise if you should know.

Kind regards

Trevor
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PS4 PSupply.jpg (1.41 MB, 16 views)

Last edited by imboss; 04-07-2021 at 04:09 AM..
imboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 11:01 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,441
Default Re: Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

post the schematic so we can see how the caps are used please.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 11:35 PM   #3
imboss
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Cape Town
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

Here's what I have.
Attached Files
File Type: rar ADP-240AR.rar (254.1 KB, 10 views)
imboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2021, 07:15 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,441
Default Re: Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

shit.
they are in series across rectified mains.
so if you have 220-240v in capetown then your looking at about 360v!!!!
and you need "headspace" so each cap would need to be rated at 250v atleast IMO.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 01:31 AM   #5
imboss
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Cape Town
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
shit.
they are in series across rectified mains.
so if you have 220-240v in capetown then your looking at about 360v!!!!
and you need "headspace" so each cap would need to be rated at 250v atleast IMO.

Thanks for the information. Greatly appreciated.
Could you please tell me what value R11 is I see its wire wound but bands not correlating to meter Shows 0.06 ohms

A3B827C9-3B77-4237-BF06-DAACDAD17023.jpg

Last edited by imboss; 04-09-2021 at 02:36 AM..
imboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 04:02 AM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 24,441
Default Re: Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

maybe 0.027?
its pretty safe to say it's o.k. given your reading and the fact that few meters will be acurate that low
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 04:08 AM   #7
imboss
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
City & State: Cape Town
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Smile Re: Ps4 ADP-240AR power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
maybe 0.027?
its pretty safe to say it's o.k. given your reading and the fact that few meters will be acurate that low
Thanks for reply. Time to buy new ps. I've officially run out of talent.
imboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?