Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Soyo - Shuttle - Supermicro
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2019, 08:21 AM   #1
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 972
Default Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Got one of the oldies here, and it finally bit the dust.


Originally came with Wendell caps and would not power on until I replaced all the bigger Wendell caps with 1500uF Panasonic FL.


It will now power on fine, but will not POST - on power on I just get a continuous rapid clicking from the speaker, regardless whether I have RAM inserted or not. CPU is a P3 500MHz Katmai, but I have tried a 550 Katmai and a 650 Coppermine model as well.


Any help is appreciated, as I would love to get this board working and replace the Acorp 6VIA81P I currently have, as Soyo makes much better boards than Acorp.
__________________
Main rig:
ASUS H61M-A
Core i3-3220 3.30GHz
MSI Twinfrozr GTX 750Ti 2GB GDDR5
6GB DDR3-1066
Samsung SH-224AB DVD-RW
Raidmax RX-500XT (recapped)
Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB
JNC RJA-52 case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 04:55 PM   #2
cpt.charlie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Torrelavega
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 235
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Maybe more caps are failing without visual signs of damage, clicking from the speaker could be some kind of reset behavior.
cpt.charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 08:42 PM   #3
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 972
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

I was thinking of reset too, could the small caps (22uF 25V to 100uF) cause this issue?
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 10:30 AM   #4
cpt.charlie
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Torrelavega
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 235
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Small caps tend to have a shorter life.
cpt.charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:58 PM   #5
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,051
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Could we see some pictures of your board and work? If it worked before (or at least POSTed) and not now, then it may help to trace back what you did. Not necessarily implying that your broken it, as there could have been an issue with the board beforehand, waiting for someone to touch the "right spot" on the motherboard to break it.

So the more info and pictures we have, the better.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:14 PM   #6
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 972
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Could we see some pictures of your board and work? If it worked before (or at least POSTed) and not now, then it may help to trace back what you did. Not necessarily implying that your broken it, as there could have been an issue with the board beforehand, waiting for someone to touch the "right spot" on the motherboard to break it.

So the more info and pictures we have, the better.
Check the best cheap/free scores thread. I already scrapped it in favor of a 6BA+IV model that also has a HPT366 RAID controller, as well as the more versatile 440BX chipset instead of VIA 693.

Wasn't such a big loss. I'm holding off recapping the 6BA+IV until I can get a proper wattage soldering iron that is more powerful (at least 60-100W) because of the huge power planes around the CPU. A low wattage iron was the 6VBA133's demise - because it was 40W, I struggled so hard to get the caps out that I destroyed the internal layers of the board and also somehow I managed to fuse the cap holes with the whole plane they were on, shorting out the VRM.

All in all, it wasn't worth beating a dead horse - I already took all jumpers and BIOS chip, and scrapped it in favor of a 6BA+IV I just got from the same dude that sold me the 6VBA133. This one just had some scratched traces, nothing a cutter and a few dabs of solder couldn't fix.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 05:43 PM   #7
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,051
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Check the best cheap/free scores thread. I already scrapped it in favor of a 6BA+IV model that also has a HPT366 RAID controller, as well as the more versatile 440BX chipset instead of VIA 693.
Yeah, I saw that. Just wasn't sure if you kept it around and still wanted to take a stab at fixing it.

Oh well...
R.I.P. SY-6VBA133


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
I'm holding off recapping the 6BA+IV until I can get a proper wattage soldering iron that is more powerful (at least 60-100W) because of the huge power planes around the CPU. A low wattage iron was the 6VBA133's demise - because it was 40W, I struggled so hard to get the caps out that I destroyed the internal layers of the board and also somehow I managed to fuse the cap holes with the whole plane they were on, shorting out the VRM.
Yup, too weak an iron will do that.
Though if it was a well-built 40W iron with a very thick copper tip (my dad has one like that from the late 70's / early 80's and it's tank), it could work OK. It's mostly all about heat transfer. If you have low power, you can substitute that with large thermal mass and vice versa. But if you have poor heat transfer (thin tip or tip made of cheaper materials), nothing will save you.

That's why with hot air, you need so many Watts to heat something to remove it - because air has pretty poor heat transfer. But then its advantage is that you can remove things without any physical contact from the tool.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 07:52 PM   #8
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 972
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Yup, too weak an iron will do that.
Though if it was a well-built 40W iron with a very thick copper tip (my dad has one like that from the late 70's / early 80's and it's tank), it could work OK. It's mostly all about heat transfer. If you have low power, you can substitute that with large thermal mass and vice versa. But if you have poor heat transfer (thin tip or tip made of cheaper materials), nothing will save you.

That's why with hot air, you need so many Watts to heat something to remove it - because air has pretty poor heat transfer. But then its advantage is that you can remove things without any physical contact from the tool.
It is one of those Radioshack style chinese crap irons. I had a 60W one with a really thick tip but that one died. (wouldn't heat anymore - mica based, like the 40Ws I have are made - ceramic stuff is way too expensive here)

I was thinking of asking one of my friends who runs a repair shop if I can use his solderi g station (it's a Pro'sKit station) as it's temperature controlled and I might have better results.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 01:53 PM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,051
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
It is one of those Radioshack style chinese crap irons. I had a 60W one with a really thick tip but that one died. (wouldn't heat anymore - mica based, like the 40Ws I have are made - ceramic stuff is way too expensive here)
They probably used too thin NiChrome wire on it, so it ran too hot for its own good.

That said, you can buy cheap NiChrome wire online and rewind it. Maybe even make it more powerful, if you like? Or dual-power with dual windings?

And instead of temperature control, you can put a switch to toggle between full power and half power (for half power, just put a single diode in series with the live - this should be about enough to keep the iron up to temperature once it's hot enough and not over-burn the tip as fast.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
I was thinking of asking one of my friends who runs a repair shop if I can use his solderi g station (it's a Pro'sKit station) as it's temperature controlled and I might have better results.
Only if it's a good quality station.
Just because it's temperature controlled doesn't really mean anything. The cheapo Hakko 936 clones that use 900M tips are about as sad as any other cheaply-made wall / constant power iron. The iron that came with my KADA 951D+ is pathetic. Last time I used it was probably 2 years ago. It just sits down in the garage uselessly. I only keep that station for the hot air (and even that rarely sees a use anymore, but at least it's a working hot air station. The temp-controlled iron, on the other hand... ).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 12:49 PM   #10
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 972
Default Re: Soyo SY-6VBA133 - no POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
They probably used too thin NiChrome wire on it, so it ran too hot for its own good.

That said, you can buy cheap NiChrome wire online and rewind it. Maybe even make it more powerful, if you like? Or dual-power with dual windings?

And instead of temperature control, you can put a switch to toggle between full power and half power (for half power, just put a single diode in series with the live - this should be about enough to keep the iron up to temperature once it's hot enough and not over-burn the tip as fast.)


Only if it's a good quality station.
Just because it's temperature controlled doesn't really mean anything. The cheapo Hakko 936 clones that use 900M tips are about as sad as any other cheaply-made wall / constant power iron. The iron that came with my KADA 951D+ is pathetic. Last time I used it was probably 2 years ago. It just sits down in the garage uselessly. I only keep that station for the hot air (and even that rarely sees a use anymore, but at least it's a working hot air station. The temp-controlled iron, on the other hand... ).
I ended up getting a Kemot soldering iron. Ceramic resistor that heats up, and tip is a strong one that doesn't eat itself lol.

Recapped the 6BA+IV w/ Panny FJS (from an dead NEC machine, board had bad SuperIO chip) and Rubycon MBZ from same board, along with two Sanyo WF in the corner of the board. POST'd just fine, though it's picky about what RAM sticks it eats.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?