Dell ATX PWS Stupidity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dell ATX PWS Stupidity

I'm a PC technician and have used several ATX power supply*testers on at least two DOA Dells,*so here's my quandary. The PWS tested good on both occasions(most recently with a Thermaltake Dr Power II), problem is, They were both bad. Last week I even ordered a new motherboard(I now have to return)*because I was fooled into believing the tester. Turns out it was the PWS! A new(old ) Dell PWS fixed the problem.

And Here's the kicker...I think The motherboard knew the PWS was bad and didn't/Wouldn't/couldn't*power it on(Dr Power II powered it on just fine.).

Why did Dr Power II Lie to me?!? Whats going on? Do I need to build a test jig with loads on each rail to test a ATX PWS properly?

Re: Dell ATX PWS Stupidity

your tester checks voltage, but does not load down the psu to make it actually work hard.

if you want to make a small rig with 2-3 50w-100w lamps on it to connect to the 3.3v, 5v and 12v it will be a more realistic test.

btw, a psu that works with no real load but fails in the real world is probably suffering bad caps unable to smooth the larger power output.
    Last edited by stj; 10-18-2017, 07:11 AM.

Comment

Cheap power supply "testers" are nothing but a big joke (and as you saw in your case, a waste of time and money). And that's because they don't put any load on the PSU. Moreover, even if you did find a way to load down the PSU while still connected to the tester, that would not show you if the PSU is producing excessive noise or not. To find that out, you need a scope.