Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2019, 01:52 AM   #1
Jake77
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
City & State: Pirkanmaa
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Hi all,

I should be replacing capacitors on my graphics card. The current ones are:
A3
OCRZ
270
16V

Height and diameter are both 8mm. Which capacitors should I buy to replace them?

From Nichicon I found these, would they do?
RL81C271MDN1PX
At least size would be the same..

Thanks
Jake77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 05:31 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,066
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

what's wrong with the old ones?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 06:57 AM   #3
Jake77
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
City & State: Pirkanmaa
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Well, the card does not work in games any more. It's ok to boot to windows and desktop use, but when starting any game with 3d graphics, the computer freezes with gray screen. Then need to power off the pc and restart it to get it up and running again. I was just thinking that when 3d graphics starts, then the card starts pulling much more watts than in desktop use, and capacitors are needed to supply it. So that lead me to suspect that there might be issues with capacitors.
Jake77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 08:54 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,066
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

got any pictures?
i'm sure the original caps will be polymer, i'd be looking in your psu first!!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 10:20 AM   #5
Jake77
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
City & State: Pirkanmaa
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Here's a pic of the capacitors.




Regardng the PSU of the computer, I have tested the PC using GTX 460 card, and everything was working fine with that card. Also the height of the capacitor is important as there is a heatsink which does not allow for any taller capacitors
Jake77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 04:45 PM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,066
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Lelon OC-CON polymer caps,
they shouldnt degrade.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 05:03 AM   #7
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,497
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

u can try recapping if u want but dont expect it to work. the issue u are getting is more of a failing gpu chip rather than bad caps. i had a couple of failing gpus before that work fine in 2d but if u run anything 3d, it either freezes or crashes instantly.
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 05:28 AM   #8
Jake77
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
City & State: Pirkanmaa
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Thanks for the replies.
This is kind of hobby project, as I already have a new graphics card on my pc. In case I wanted to practice and try to change the capacitors still, just for fun, so which capacitors are ok? Would the nichicon RL81C271MDN1KX be ok?

How is the quality of Lelon nowadays, are they ok?
I read from the forum that at least previously Lelon made some bad quality caps?
Jake77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 07:37 AM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,066
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

i have never seen bad lelon's

but we are talking polymers here anyway - references to bad caps are about liquid-filled electrolytics.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 11:16 PM   #10
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

could be another bad component dropping voltage when the GPU starts to pull a certain amount of amperage. but diagnostic for that kind of thing would be very difficult
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 03:09 AM   #11
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,066
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

not really, if the card is using just external power cables and not drawing via the pci-e slot then a dc clampmeter could see the level.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:07 PM   #12
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
not really, if the card is using just external power cables and not drawing via the pci-e slot then a dc clampmeter could see the level.
I mean to find the specific fet that's doing it
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 04:06 AM   #13
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,066
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

stick your finger or a thermocouple on them - a bad one will get hotter
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 09:51 PM   #14
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,970
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
u can try recapping if u want but dont expect it to work. the issue u are getting is more of a failing gpu chip rather than bad caps. i had a couple of failing gpus before that work fine in 2d but if u run anything 3d, it either freezes or crashes instantly.
This. ^

You likely have a failing video card, and there's not much you can do about it. You can try to reflow it, but it may or may not fix the issue (and the fix may not last long.)

If you want to practice recapping, don't waste your time and caps on this card - it's hard to learn on them if you never done it before, because they have very thick copper traces and will sink heat away from your iron very quickly. So unless you really have a good iron, chances are you will struggle. Thus, if you want to practice recapping, grab an older motherboard or a PSU known for bad caps, and recap that instead. PSUs are probably the easiest to work on, so I recommend starting with that. You will also end up with a reliable test PSU afterwards (that is, if it's a known good brand PSU, of course.)
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 04:39 AM   #15
Jake77
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
City & State: Pirkanmaa
My Country: Finland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Thanks for all your replies and comments.
Ok, sounds like just better let this card go and move on
And practise with PSU first, if want to have some soldering experience.
Jake77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 06:45 PM   #16
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,970
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Well, if you are thinking of throwing it away, consider listing it on eBay or your local classifieds/auction sites for cheap. Some people do buy them for their heatsinks or even to attempt to reflow them (which sometimes can fix the card back, though the fix is usually temporary.) Or are you going to keep it as a decor ornament? I know I have a few cards like that.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 06:40 PM   #17
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake77 View Post
Well, the card does not work in games any more. (...) but when starting any game with 3d graphics, the computer freezes with gray screen. Then need to power off the pc and restart it to get it up and running again. I was just thinking that when 3d graphics starts, then the card starts pulling much more watts than in desktop use, and capacitors are needed to supply it. So that lead me to suspect that there might be issues with capacitors.
No, there is more to it.
I have a similar card but didn't bother with it.

The Problem you have right now is that you do not know if the Chips degraded or the Powersupply for the Chip.

And for that you might need a scope and know how to use it on a GPU...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 09:33 PM   #18
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,970
Default Re: Replacing capacitors on Gainward GTX Titan, which ones to choose?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
The Problem you have right now is that you do not know if the Chips degraded or the Powersupply for the Chip.

And for that you might need a scope and know how to use it on a GPU...
Whaaaaaat??!

The GPU "VRMs" either supply power properly or they don't at all. There is no such thing as "degraded [VRM] chips". GPU is just dead/dying (mechanical solder failure between core and substrate). Make no more or less out of it. In rare cases, you may have tin whisker growth between traces on the PCB or the GPU BGA, or some via failing... but again, that is rare.

Last edited by momaka; 04-09-2019 at 09:35 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?