Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2017, 11:32 AM   #1
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Whirlpool WRF40 fridge Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Replacements?

Hey there everyone,

So my controller board on my fridge which has 5 temperature settings which are displayed by leds on the front of the fridge has decided to only work on setting 1, 2 or 3, switching it to 4 or 5 causes the lights to flash and the fan kicks in and goes off repeatedly, i have phoned somebody who had the same problem and has told me to replace the 2 yellow capacitors, from what i see these are EPCOS Capacitors, 1u 250v & u47 250v, Model number : B32669.
It seems like the board isnt worth alot of money but down here where im staying they want to charge 250$ for it..

Datasheet : http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datashe...OS/B32669.html

This company is local to my country and i was wondering if any if these capacitors listed would be applicable :

http://za.rs-online.com/web/c/passi....264,4294464783

http://za.rs-online.com/web/c/passi....766,4294464783

it needs about 5 seconds to load the filters i added.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 12330x3.jpg (389.6 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 08-02-2017 at 11:27 AM..
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 01:55 PM   #2
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,863
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

I get blank forms - stuff at the top and sides, but no particulars about any parts. Did you notice the "~" after the "250V" on those capacitors? That means that the rating is 250VAC.

The B32669 series was, I think, originally a Siemens part. They partnered with Matsushita (Panasonic) to create Epcos. Siemens and Matsushita sold their holdings in Epcos in 2006, and TDF acquired Epcos. The B32669 series was discontinued in 2014.

Vishay has several axial lead AC rated MKP series. You might see if any of those are available there in South Africa.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 01:43 PM   #3
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,350
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

I would use any X1 or X2 rated film capacitor, polyester or polypropylene.
Axial film caps are harder to find and expensive like 10X. If you measure the lead spacing, maybe put in a boxed part. But watch the height.
Example http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polyes...itors/8741481/ or http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polypr...itors/1247430/ or http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polypr...itors/8829496/

The electrolytic caps (c4 etc) I would change out too.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 09:47 AM   #4
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
I get blank forms - stuff at the top and sides, but no particulars about any parts. Did you notice the "~" after the "250V" on those capacitors? That means that the rating is 250VAC.

The B32669 series was, I think, originally a Siemens part. They partnered with Matsushita (Panasonic) to create Epcos. Siemens and Matsushita sold their holdings in Epcos in 2006, and TDF acquired Epcos. The B32669 series was discontinued in 2014.

Vishay has several axial lead AC rated MKP series. You might see if any of those are available there in South Africa.
Hey there Pete, not sure what you mean by blank forms, do u mean i should of put a bigger picture of the whole board ?

I did notice the ~ , had no idea it meant vAC, learnt something new !

This board has been running 14 years so it makes sense that it has the old epcos caps, i did see a TDF data sheet on some similar caps i think. ill see if i can find it.

Ill definitely take a look at some of the Vishay caps then, i think i do know a supplier, could i ask is there anything else i should be looking for when matching these capacitors ? Besides Voltage, capacitance, polypropylene dielectric etc ? Thank You
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 09:55 AM   #5
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
I would use any X1 or X2 rated film capacitor, polyester or polypropylene.
Axial film caps are harder to find and expensive like 10X. If you measure the lead spacing, maybe put in a boxed part. But watch the height.
Example http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polyes...itors/8741481/ or http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polypr...itors/1247430/ or http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polypr...itors/8829496/

The electrolytic caps (c4 etc) I would change out too.
Appreciate the help Redwire, im not too shy spending some money on these, as long as they are matched the closest as possible, ill probably go with polypropylene to match the previous Caps, a boxed part sounds fine, there is quite alot of head space where the pc board is mounted so i doubt it will be a problem at all, would this sort of capacitor work man ? http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/polypr...itors/1908450/ it is rated for 630v DC and 250v AC , would this work ? Ill change out the the elec caps for sure man, thanks for that!
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 08:02 PM   #6
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,350
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Capacitors with suppression rating X1 or X2 can withstand overvoltages from lightning etc. so they are the toughest part. You don't have to have them for this board, and the one you linked to is fine without that approval.
Big 27.5mm lead spacing, if it fits the PCB.

I find film caps fail short-circuit, so I am not sure these parts are the problem with the board. Let us know how it turns out.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 08:16 PM   #7
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,624
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickyZA View Post
Hey there Pete, not sure what you mean by blank forms, do u mean i should of put a bigger picture of the whole board ?
Your links to RS-Components are bad. Something has copied the shortened version for display and trashed the URL.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 09:06 PM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35,745
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

So the caps no longer show the capacitance as 1uF and 0.47uF when tested?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 02:04 AM   #9
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
Capacitors with suppression rating X1 or X2 can withstand overvoltages from lightning etc. so they are the toughest part. You don't have to have them for this board, and the one you linked to is fine without that approval.
Big 27.5mm lead spacing, if it fits the PCB.

I find film caps fail short-circuit, so I am not sure these parts are the problem with the board. Let us know how it turns out.
That makes sense redwire, so they just way more durable caps then ? so the ones i linked would work but they are not recommended because they cant withstand such overvoltages ? So pretty much wasting my time going with non x1 or x2. Spacing shouldnt be a problem with any box cap, the enclosure that the pcb is in has alot of headroom, id say almost 2 inches.

Would i be wrong to say that a capacitor like this could sort of half work ? Or in other words lost some of its capacitance ?

Here is another picture of the pcb maybe you could tell me what else you think has gone wrong ? Thank You man !

Attached Images
File Type: jpg dxd9i8.jpg (375.5 KB, 7 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 08-02-2017 at 11:28 AM.. Reason: Offsite image uploaded
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 02:06 AM   #10
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent24 View Post
Your links to RS-Components are bad. Something has copied the shortened version for display and trashed the URL.
Sorry about that but i guess we can ignore it , if the link to the the datasheet of the current B32669 capacitor shows then atleast we can use that as a baseline on finding a new replacement, the links i gave are probably not the right type anyway.
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 02:09 AM   #11
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
So the caps no longer show the capacitance as 1uF and 0.47uF when tested?
I havent checked that man, i need to but after 14 years of running the same capacitors ? I mean wouldnt you say its due for a change ? How long can metallized polypropylene film capacitors actually run for ? Could they do 20 years ? 30 years ? 40 ? Im not even sure myself.
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 06:52 PM   #12
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,350
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

The board looks like a sturdy design, 14 years is nothing. Here is a CERN research paper on film cap failure and lifetime.

If you can measure the two film caps, that will tell you if they are bad. There are MOV's for surge protection R22, R23 so you don't have to use X-caps.

It sounds like power cuts out when many LED's are on?
I am guessing but DZ1, C11, C4 are for power to the voltage regulator near R8, maybe +5VDC for the MCU. DZ2, C10, C5 are maybe for the relay power RL1.

Taking some voltage measurements across DZ1 and DZ2 will tell you if board has enough DC power. Or you can change parts and hope it fixes things.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 06:57 PM   #13
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 35,745
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Those two caps look to be used Vdrops capaciitive power supply for drooping line Voltage for low level dc power supplies.
The lytics caps on the board should be changed for sure.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 05:57 AM   #14
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwire View Post
The board looks like a sturdy design, 14 years is nothing. Here is a CERN research paper on film cap failure and lifetime.

If you can measure the two film caps, that will tell you if they are bad. There are MOV's for surge protection R22, R23 so you don't have to use X-caps.

It sounds like power cuts out when many LED's are on?
I am guessing but DZ1, C11, C4 are for power to the voltage regulator near R8, maybe +5VDC for the MCU. DZ2, C10, C5 are maybe for the relay power RL1.

Taking some voltage measurements across DZ1 and DZ2 will tell you if board has enough DC power. Or you can change parts and hope it fixes things.
THanx for the reply once again Redwire, i take it you get boards that last quite alot longer than 14 years ! Thats intense !

I havent measured the film caps as of yet, i did order replacements though & i did get x-rated capacitors, you said i dont have to use them but using them wont be a problem right ? I got 5x1uf 250v & 5x0.47uf 250v Panasonic Caps as such :
http://za.rs-online.com/web/p/products/6225075/

Board does cut out when all leds are on, even on setting 4 as there are 5 settings, currently on setting 3, when i go to setting 4 or 5 all leds start to flash and fan inside fridge goes on and off along with the flash.

Im not too good at reading voltages across boards, if you can give me some tips maybe i could give it a try man ? Im hoping its one of these capacitors though.
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 05:59 AM   #15
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Those two caps look to be used Vdrops capaciitive power supply for drooping line Voltage for low level dc power supplies.
The lytics caps on the board should be changed for sure.
Hey budm, so you think those two caps used for dropping line voltage are kind of finished aswell ? I have received all lytic caps for the board, will be replacing them for sure ! got some good quality ones too !
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 07:34 AM   #16
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Hey guys just an update, i installed the two capacitors the ones that i linked in the post when i quoted Red and the fridge is back! all settings are working! i havent replaced the electrolytic capacitors just yet, not really keen to tinker more if i dont have to, what do you guys think should i replace them now ?

To anybody else viewing this thread this fridge is a Whirlpool WRF40, i should of put this in the topic but hey maybe this post helps you pick it up : )

Last edited by RickyZA; 01-23-2017 at 07:39 AM..
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 01:03 PM   #17
UHU
Member
 
UHU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: London
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Personally I would replace the electrolytic capacitors because after 14 years they would be past their best and could still fail blowing something else in the process - electrolytics are generally more delicate than film capacitors - if your fridge is the type with PID Temperature control (a lot of Liebherr Fridges / Freezers are [Liebherr make ALL Miele fridges and freezers] but I am not sure about Whirlpool/Philips) you would suddenly find out just how accurate temperature control can be!
UHU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 11:54 AM   #18
RickyZA
Member
 
RickyZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: Western-Cape
My Country: South-Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UHU View Post
Personally I would replace the electrolytic capacitors because after 14 years they would be past their best and could still fail blowing something else in the process - electrolytics are generally more delicate than film capacitors - if your fridge is the type with PID Temperature control (a lot of Liebherr Fridges / Freezers are [Liebherr make ALL Miele fridges and freezers] but I am not sure about Whirlpool/Philips) you would suddenly find out just how accurate temperature control can be!
Your right man, i have all the necessary replacements, i should pull that board soon and give them a replacement. Fridge still working perfectly since i replaced the two film caps, so your implying i would get better temperature control with the newer lytics ? Thanx : )
RickyZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 03:25 PM   #19
Wayno
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
City & State: Durban
My Country: South Africa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

Hi RickyZN,

I have the same problem with my Whirlpool WRF40 fridge, Please could you send me a picture of the board with the new components soldered on if possible, I am newb to this kind of thing and would like to double check everything before I attempt the repair.

Thank you.

Regards,
Wayne
Wayno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 11:29 AM   #20
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,277
Default Re: Which Metallized Polypropylene Film Capacitor Should i use ?

What is it that you need to see?
The pictures posted by RickyZA makes things very clear.
I have attached them to his posts in case you could not see them.
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?