Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer P235H Black Issue

Hello folks...newbie here.

My wife's 23" Acer P235H monitor went out several months ago and I thought all was lost. That is until I started browsing the Internet and saw that this issue may be easily fixable!

She has the issue I see most common where the screen goes black after a few seconds and you can still see the image using a flashlight. So I was exicted to see that there were lots of boards you could buy on ebay, etc...and they were cheap! I took some time last night and opened the monitor up (took awhile, stupid plastic would NOT come apart) and was shocked to see this huge board in there...not like the small cheap inverter boards I was seeing online. So to replace the board is going to be around $50...so I figure I would try to fix it myself first.

I just read the "2 Second Black" thread and got some good pointers. None of my capacitors seem to be blown...but by reading that thread, they may not show any signs of damage.

I have posted some pictures here as I have NO CLUE what I am doing. Can someone point me to which capacitors I shold focus on replacing first? I would like to do these one step at a time in case I make a mistake. Any other hints, suggestions, would be welcome. Guess I need to buy a soldering iron tonight.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by spaceace414; 12-20-2011, 10:10 AM.

Re: Acer P235H Black Issue

I think this MUST be the correct board as well. There is a smaller square board in the monitor as well that holds all the "connections"...HDMI, VGA, etc.

Comment

Originally posted by spaceace414 View Post
      I have posted some pictures here as I have NO CLUE what I am doing.
      1) BEFORE doing anything, read through troubleshooting 2 seconds to black at

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=10419

starting with post #19.

2) 2 seconds to black can be (in no particular order)

a) bad caps
      b) bad ccfls
      c) bad ccfl wiring (return wiring)