Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2020, 07:00 PM   #1
reset1986
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

hi, i have problems with this hp,

always starts at the bios update screen, writes the bios from the hard disk and fails and repeats endlessly,

I ran the WIN + B procedure prepared the USB key, writing this file from the HP site https://support.hp.com/it-it/drivers...ok-pc/24381316, sp100745

but the BIOS does not find a file.bin is not saved in the USB key



the bios chip is signed with XMC and the tl866cs programmer does not identify me

thanks
reset1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 06:17 AM   #2
lapfix
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
City & State: my house
My Country: my workshop
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 429
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Today, only a part of what is commonly called bios is provided for the upgrade on the HP website .
Better to post your bios backup here and someone gonna help you.

Last edited by lapfix; 05-14-2020 at 07:29 AM..
lapfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 08:22 AM   #3
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,614
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

sp100745 is a diagnostics app,that version does not include any bios. The recovery methods are listed in this HP document - https://support.hp.com/in-en/document/c02693833
There is no bios update listed on the 250 G7 drivers support page but a full bios is is included on the latest HP PC HARDWARE DIAGNOSTICS 4-IN-1 USB KEY - http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp1035...0/sp103655.exe
Make another key from that and run it, if you still can`t recover the bios then extract the 4-in-one key with winrar or 7zip.Look in the folder called Field,then open the BIOSCopy.csv to find your bios name in the list.All the full bios are in the BIOS folder.Flash the bios with your tl866,then you`ll need to run hp BCU bios config utility from windows, nbdmifit from UEFI or use wndmifit from windows.
HP DMI Tool NBDmiFit - https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=69204

EDIT: The bios.bin isn`t in the BIOS folder even though its listed in the BIOSCopy.csv file. The bios is 084A8 ,check your bios backup to make sure its the right one. Strangely the bios is included with an earlier version of the 4-in-one key for other models but not listed in the .csv , thanks HP ! .

Bios 084A8.bin attached .

.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 084A8.zip (3.69 MB, 26 views)

Last edited by SMDFlea; 05-14-2020 at 10:36 AM..
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 01:10 PM   #4
reset1986
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
sp100745 is a diagnostics app,that version does not include any bios. The recovery methods are listed in this HP document - https://support.hp.com/in-en/document/c02693833
There is no bios update listed on the 250 G7 drivers support page but a full bios is is included on the latest HP PC HARDWARE DIAGNOSTICS 4-IN-1 USB KEY - http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp1035...0/sp103655.exe
Make another key from that and run it, if you still can`t recover the bios then extract the 4-in-one key with winrar or 7zip.Look in the folder called Field,then open the BIOSCopy.csv to find your bios name in the list.All the full bios are in the BIOS folder.Flash the bios with your tl866,then you`ll need to run hp BCU bios config utility from windows, nbdmifit from UEFI or use wndmifit from windows.
HP DMI Tool NBDmiFit - https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=69204



EDIT: The bios.bin isn`t in the BIOS folder even though its listed in the BIOSCopy.csv file. The bios is 084A8 ,check your bios backup to make sure its the right one. Strangely the bios is included with an earlier version of the 4-in-one key for other models but not listed in the .csv , thanks HP ! .

Bios 084A8.bin attached .

.


Thank you very much for the advice,
i can't write bios with with Win + b,

the tl866cs timer does not recognize me the main bios chip signed xmc qu64ah1g
but I managed to dump 8mb by checking the check id, I attach the dump,

the bid version 084AA

i think the tl866cs will give writing problems for this i am trying to use the WIN + B procedure,

I prepare the usb key and copy the bios to the current folder, I rename it 084AA.bin but it gives me error "Bios ID of Image does not match system"
you also need another 084AA.s12 file

thanks for the help
Attached Files
File Type: zip dump hp 250 g7.zip (3.18 MB, 21 views)
reset1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 03:42 PM   #5
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,614
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Flash this bios with your programmer, use w25q128fv in the list,untick check-id .
Attached Files
File Type: zip 084AA.zip (4.03 MB, 31 views)
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 06:54 PM   #6
reset1986
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
Flash this bios with your programmer, use w25q128fv in the list,untick check-id .
ok, I selected w25q128fv from the tl866cs and redone an original dump, the file is 16Mb I attach the corrupt 16mb dump, I found that by clearing the control id that I can write, I flash a 16mb file found on google but on the black screen

It was my mistake the 8mb dump, I had selected the 8mb programmer memory

Is it possible repair 16 Mb dump?

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: rar hp 250 g7 dump 16Mb.rar (5.11 MB, 22 views)
reset1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 02:39 AM   #7
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,614
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

My mistake telling you to use w25q128fv.
If you only have an 8MB bios then flash the bios i posted again,this time using W25Q64FW .
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 08:42 AM   #8
reset1986
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
My mistake telling you to use w25q128fv.
If you only have an 8MB bios then flash the bios i posted again,this time using W25Q64FW .
followed the instructions, bios spelled correctly, thanks you
reset1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 12:27 PM   #9
RAVI KARAN
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Uk
My Country: INDIA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 38
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Share motherboard part no. Or upload m/b part no. Image
RAVI KARAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 04:30 PM   #10
reset1986
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAVI KARAN View Post
Share motherboard part no. Or upload m/b part no. Image
mainboard EPK50 LA-G073P
reset1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 12:27 PM   #11
Aditya11ttt
Adi
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
City & State: Kolkata
My Country: India
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 40
Default Re: hp 250 g7 corrupt bios

Quote:
Originally Posted by reset1986 View Post
mainboard EPK50 LA-G073P
use this W25Q64JVSSIQ
Aditya11ttt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?