Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2020, 07:20 AM   #1
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Numark NS6 Usb problem

Hello
I have a problem with this board, it is the main board of the numark NS6 controller, the board has already undergone a repair, the two components highlighted in the photo have been replaced, the larger chip which is a CS5368-CQZ of the cirrus logic burned in continuation due to the breakdown of the smaller chip which is a voltage regulator (Ap1510) which instead of 5 volts supplied 12 volts and burned the CS5368-CQZ. Solved this problem I tried to connect it to the PC via USB but not by signs of life, so it is not detected by the computer, I state that the controller turns on regularly. I would be grateful if someone could help me, replacing the card costs more than 300 euros and it's not worth it. I enclose a photo of the card and the service manual of the controller. Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ns6 Board.jpg (438.0 KB, 20 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ns6 Service Manual.pdf (6.61 MB, 5 views)
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 11:11 AM   #2
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

I see the "+5VA" rail also powers the Atmega162 that connects directly to the ISP1583 USB interface. What're the odds that's thoroughly toasted as well?
__________________
Khron's Cave - Electronics - Audio - Teardowns - Mods - Repairs - Projects - Music - Rants - Shenanigans
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 12:00 PM   #3
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Do you think both of them are burnt? What do you advise me to do?
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 12:25 PM   #4
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

I read that the atmega162 is a chip that needs programming, I suppose it contains the controller firmware, if I replace it, how will I reprogram it later?
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 12:37 PM   #5
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Well, they're both supplied from the same source, and the codec chip got burnt, soooo....

And yes, the ATmega is a pretty widespread microntroller. Probably the easiest way might be with a USBasp adapter.
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 12:40 PM   #6
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

so what do you recommend to replace both? or do I try to replace them one at a time?
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 02:13 PM   #7
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Well, without the firmware for the ATmega, i'm not sure how far chip-swapping will get you.
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 02:16 PM   #8
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

yes I understand what you mean, in fact I would like to replace the usb chip first
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 05:06 PM   #9
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Go right ahead, but it's more certain the ATmega is toast; the usb chip is just a "maybe".
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2020, 05:14 PM   #10
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

I hoped it was the other way round, the thing about having to load the firmware unnerves me enough I don't think it's an easy operation, also because I don't know where to find the firmware, it is not downloadable from the numark website but it is updated via serato itch
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 04:47 AM   #11
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Can you recommend a usb programmer for atmega169? the connector on the board has 6 pins
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 06:39 AM   #12
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Well, since you asked...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khron View Post
Well, they're both supplied from the same source, and the codec chip got burnt, soooo....

And yes, the ATmega is a pretty widespread microntroller. Probably the easiest way might be with a USBasp adapter.
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 06:52 AM   #13
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

ok but I would like a model that is right for me, there are many and I would not want to make a mistake in the purchase, I don't know if everyone can program the atmega169 and many have 8/10 pins and not 6 outgoing
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 07:41 AM   #14
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

The number of pins is less relevant than the signals they contain

https://www.google.com/search?client...=usbasp+pinout
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 07:45 AM   #15
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

I saw that there are also 10 to 6 pin gearboxes, but are all of them capable of programming atmega162?

Last edited by falcontech; 06-21-2020 at 08:12 AM..
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 07:46 AM   #16
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

sorry but for me it's a new topic, I've never fumbled with these things
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 08:21 AM   #17
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

I read that the isp1583 usb controller works with 3.3 volts voltage while the atmega162 with 5 volts so it is more likely that the latter has jumped since the 5 volts got high on the card
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 08:37 AM   #18
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,849
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcontech View Post
Can you recommend a usb programmer for atmega169? the connector on the board has 6 pins
look on ebay for "USB-ASP"
cost about 2 but you want the 6pin>10pin adapter with it - so probably 3-4

software to use with it is AVRdude
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 08:43 AM   #19
falcontech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Reggio Calabria
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 228
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
look on ebay for "USB-ASP"
cost about 2 but you want the 6pin>10pin adapter with it - so probably 3-4

software to use with it is AVRdude
Thank you
does anyone have the firmware of this machine? I can not find it anywhere, if I do not find the firmware it is useless to do the whole operation, I repeat the firmware of these controllers you can only get through you update with serato itch, if someone is in possession tell me thank you
falcontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 12:34 PM   #20
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,849
Default Re: Numark NS6 Usb problem

if you had the programmer, you could try talking to the atmel to see if it's dead or not.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?