PB70 AT power supply

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PB70 AT power supply

I have an AT power supply (custom for a specific computer model) and it does not power on. I have had some experience repairing power supplies so normally it's not a big deal. First thing I noticed is the fuse is not blown, however it does not output any power. I have checked for shorts on the secondary side, checked all the transistors, including the main switching transistor, all the diodes, the optocoupler and photothyristor seem to work. I get voltage, about 300vdc, if I remember, at the primary side bridge rectifier. I have even checked all the resistors and they are at the rated value. From what I can tell, the main transistor must not be switching at all. Though if I keep a meter on the output, and power it on for a few seconds then turn it off, after about 15 seconds or so it jumps from 0v dc to 0.2v dc, which makes me think that there may be a collapsing field in the transformer that may be generating some current, though I don't know for sure. I did a full recap on it since some minor leakage was showing, even though the leaking capacitors didn't show any ESR issues yet.

Any help will be appreciated, as I have been banging my head on this issue for most of this week.

Thanks
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Zorix; 06-21-2018, 10:44 AM.

Re: PB70 AT power supply

Did you also replace those small value caps like c23 and the blue one with the silicone on it? also if there are similar caps in the primary

Comment

I replaced all electrolytics except for the bulk filtering ones. The blue one as well, though they actually had a good ESR rating and capacitance was spot on. Thanks.

Comment

So the standby voltage is ok, and power on is ok. If the main switching transistor is ok, check if there are any low value resistors off of it that might be open, also what is the drive ic that drives the switching transistor?
        Last edited by R_J; 06-21-2018, 11:25 AM.