Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2018, 08:43 AM   #21
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I have unsoldered it.
TL866 it is updated, 671 version and the firmware as well. W25Q64FV
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 06:38 PM   #22
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

Here it is my serial number: F4N0BC05247717B
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 08:39 PM   #23
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
Here it is my serial number: F4N0BC05247717B
cacla, those files don't look bin files. I would have to rename it, as .bin file?
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 04:33 AM   #24
SMDFlea
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

You don`t have to change it to .bin ,the programmer will read the file as is. Your bios chip is a W25Q64FV(SIQ) , if you get any errors reading or verifying ,program it again with QE = 1 S9 QUAD ENABLE ticked under the config tab .
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 06:29 AM   #25
cacla
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
City & State: Skopje
My Country: Macedonija
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 276
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
cacla, those files don't look bin files. I would have to rename it, as .bin file?
They are fine trust me
cacla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 10:21 AM   #26
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

Cacla, which one should I use? On the Asus site, the 206 is the latest Bios.

Last edited by tibimakai; 07-07-2018 at 10:43 AM..
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 06:30 PM   #27
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

What is interesting, when I check the ID( 0xEF 40 17) of the IC online, it shows as a W25Q64CV.
Should I chose the basic W25Q64FV, and not the SOIC8 or such options, right?

Last edited by tibimakai; 07-07-2018 at 06:32 PM..
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 07:00 PM   #28
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I have tried the 209 version and did not work, just the power and HDD LEDs keep blinking.
If I place the IC into the programmer and I "Verify" it, it shows this message after it's done: Verify Result(differencequantity): 5238952. This is a message in red. This is bad or OK?
I will try, the 206 version now.
I'm not measuring anything at this time, but some of the coils are getting pretty warm(3.3V & 5V).
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 07:37 PM   #29
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I have tried 206 as well and I get the same thing, it seems like it is trying to turn on, but it is in a reboot loop.
I have measured the 3.3V and 5V and when it reaches these voltages, drops to 2.3V respectively, to 3.4V. After a couple of seconds, it turns off(0V) and the cycle restarts. No voltage is present, at the 1.8V CPU.
The ICE chip could be faulty?
I'm wondering, how come everything has changed, after I have removed the BIOS chip?
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:53 AM   #30
SMDFlea
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

Program the bios with the part number on top of the chip. If your getting any sort of error its A. Not seated properly in the adapter B. The programmer is faulty C. The bios chip is faulty. D. You`re not programming with the correct settings .

The W25Q64CV supports dual and quad SPI The W25Q64FV supports dual ,quad and QPI

Try it with QE = 1 S9 QUAD ENABLE ticked under the config tab . If that doesn`t work try it with quad enable unticked ,and check id unticked and choose W25Q64FV
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 07:22 AM   #31
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I'm not getting errors. Every time shows a succesful result.
After I try the chip in the laptop, when I place it back in the programmer and I hit Verify, than I get that red message. But I don't know if it is an error, or not.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 07:36 AM   #32
SMDFlea
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

If youve got the options ticked to erase before,and verify after thats ok. When you put it back in the programmer why hit verify again ? . You only need to program and verify once.
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 08:57 AM   #33
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I was just curious.
So, if the flash is OK, than what is happening with my laptop?
What I have noticed previously touching it and now, that with the AC adapter is in a reboot loop and with the battery, wants to start only once.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 09:47 AM   #34
SMDFlea
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

The bios provided by @cacla are ok. Did you replace the cap with the ferrite bead . 3.3v and 5v voltages are up ,you need to know which IC generates 1.8v . It would really help if you could get the boardview.
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 10:26 AM   #35
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

The question which BIOS should I have on the chip? He asked for the serial number, which I have provided on the first page.
It would be a good start, to have the right BIOS.
The 3.3V and 5V are up, but they are keep shutting down, so most likely something is causing that. They are warm at touch as well.
I would need that password, for the boardview.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 10:57 AM   #36
SMDFlea
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
The question which BIOS should I have on the chip? He asked for the serial number, which I have provided on the first page.
It would be a good start, to have the right BIOS.
The 3.3V and 5V are up, but they are keep shutting down, so most likely something is causing that. They are warm at touch as well.
I would need that password, for the boardview.
Which IC is generating 3.3V and 5V. I`ve already PM`ed you about the boardview,so you know there`s other alternatives.With the boardview you`ll find the right value ferrite bead replacement, and we`ll know what IC is controlling what.
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 11:45 AM   #37
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I have checked the voltages, at the coils.
I have purchased the boardview file, but how can I upload it here?
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 11:46 AM   #38
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

OK, here it is the rar file.
Attached Files
File Type: rar asus_q502la_rev2.0_boardview.rar (1.12 MB, 18 views)
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 11:48 AM   #39
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

I'm at work, so I don't have setup, the boardview software yet.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:23 PM   #40
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,284
Default Re: Asus Q502L does not boot up properly

The ferrite bead is L4510, by the LVD connector(first on from the right).

P.S. I have managed to open PCBRepair Tool software.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?