Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2020, 12:53 PM   #1
LEEDASH
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Bedford
My Country: Bedfordshire
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 451
Default Blown cap

IMG_20201014_195120.jpg

Does this capacitor look like it's leaked or blown?
LEEDASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 01:46 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,366
Default Re: Blown cap

yes, but usually you see the negative terminal leak first.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 02:10 PM   #3
LEEDASH
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Bedford
My Country: Bedfordshire
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 451
Default Re: Blown cap

Might answer why the unit don't switch on,
LEEDASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 04:08 PM   #4
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,439
Default Re: Blown cap

interesting! its leaking gold coloured stuff? lol! might it be iron pyrite or fool's gold? rofl!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 08:09 PM   #5
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,752
Default Re: Blown cap

That ooze almost looks like the tan/brown glue that goes conductive. But I don't see that kind of glue anywhere else on the board, so I don't think that is it. Very surprising that it is leaking out of the positive terminal. As stj said, usually they do it on the negative one. And yeah, that very likely be the reason for not getting power. Just hope nothing else has blown when that cap went.

Also curious what brand of capacitor is that?
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 10:51 AM   #6
jayjr1105
Senior Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Lancaster, PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 136
Default Re: Blown cap

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
That ooze almost looks like the tan/brown glue that goes conductive. But I don't see that kind of glue anywhere else on the board, so I don't think that is it. Very surprising that it is leaking out of the positive terminal. As stj said, usually they do it on the negative one. And yeah, that very likely be the reason for not getting power. Just hope nothing else has blown when that cap went.

Also curious what brand of capacitor is that?
Looks like a Taicon to me.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------
Ryzen 3600
16GB Patriot 3600MHz
MSI Mortar Arctic mATX
MSI Vega 56
Acer 32" 1440P Freesync
Rosewill Capstone 750W
--------------------------------------------------------------
Hakko FX-888D Station
FX-8802 Iron
MG Chem .8mm 63/37 RA 2.2%
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 09:37 PM   #7
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,752
Default Re: Blown cap

Yup, Taicon it is.
A little surprised, though. Generally, I see them fail a lot less than other 2nd tier brand and expect them to fail less. But I suppose that doesn't mean too much when it comes to 2nd tier caps.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 04:49 PM   #8
pc7fan
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: Maritimes
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 250V Split-phased, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 49
Default Re: Blown cap

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Yup, Taicon it is.
A little surprised, though. Generally, I see them fail a lot less than other 2nd tier brand and expect them to fail less. But I suppose that doesn't mean too much when it comes to 2nd tier caps.
Indeed, I've also seen failed Taicon primaries. I have actually seen more failed primaries than secondary caps from them. I would say failure rate for primaries is about on par as with Samxon, especially if in APFC.
pc7fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 07:17 PM   #9
momaka
master hoarder
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,752
Default Re: Blown cap

Well, APFC is a whole another story. Even good Japanese caps fail there sometimes, particularly if the manufacturer penny-pinched and used 85C -rated caps instead of 105C -rated caps... and also 400V caps instead of 420V or 450V caps. Going with 105C caps for higher rated voltage means bigger caps - which is quite necessary, because APFC puts more stress on the caps (lower ripple current than at 50/60 Hz, but at much higher frequency, so the end result is more stress on the caps than caps simply getting rectified DC straight from the line at 50/60 Hz.)
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?