Gateway FPD2185W Washed out / White

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gateway FPD2185W Washed out / White

Picked up 5 of these beauties off of craigslist and was able to salvage 3 by replacing the Saxon GF 470uf25v caps with some locally purchased rubycons on the power supply/inverter board.

The other 2 have the same issue: Screen powers on and I can see the gateway splash screen, but it's like the backlight is on full blast. The entire screen is washed in a white/grey color. I can get to the menus but nothing can be changed. Any ideas?

I can post pics of any parts from one of these screens.

Re: Gateway FPD2185W Washed out / White

Originally posted by zenmechanic
    The other 2 have the same issue: Screen powers on and I can see the gateway splash screen, but it's like the backlight is on full blast. The entire screen is washed in a white/grey color. I can get to the menus but nothing can be changed. Any ideas?
    I'm not an expert and I could be wrong, but it seems the backlight is fixed at max value allowed: since the backlight is usually regulated through a pwm controller (such as computer fans) you should check this one.
    If you can't even see a faint image but you see the osd menu, perhaps the vga/dvi interface went mad, so the panel gets no signal: the screen should show an uniform color.
    If you don't see any image, even the osd, I think something else is damaged (panel electronics?).

Zandrax
    Have an happy life.

Comment

Originally posted by zenmechanic
      Picked up 5 of these beauties off of craigslist and was able to salvage 3 by replacing the Saxon GF 470uf25v caps with some locally purchased rubycons on the power supply/inverter board.

I can post pics of any parts from one of these screens.
      iirc the ones i had like that were bad eeproms
      24lc02
      and were the caps samxon?
      seen many bad samxon in lcd's .
      if so replace all of them .they can look ok but open.

Comment