Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 01:48 PM   #1
dhamrin
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Default SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Just finished recapping a SuperDot Motherboard. After successful power up, it re-blew the exact 2 same caps which were visibly popped in the first place. See attached picture with finger pointing to the 2 bad caps (Sanyo 6.3V, 1000mf). There were about 15 of these on the board, all but 2 of which I replaced even though they looked fine. Any ideas what I should try next? This is the first time I have had this type of problem. Thanks to anyone who has seen this before and can help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg August 2013 010.JPG (318.4 KB, 82 views)
dhamrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:51 PM   #2
Pentium4
CapXon Be Gone
 
Pentium4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
City & State: WA State
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Those don't really look like Sanyo caps. Did you buy them new or resuse old ones?
__________________
Buy quality, and you only cry once
Pentium4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,719
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

It's Supermicro, not superdot.

Those don't look like Sanyo capacitors.

Check the voltage on those capacitors that are swollen.

check your 3.3v and 5v from the power supply

check those dpak (to-263) ICs they may be shorted or overheating causing problems.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 02:04 PM   #4
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,896
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Those look like OST to me...

Check your power supply as well... RAM is either taking voltage from the 12V/5V rail and regulating it down to 3.3v or straight from the 3.3V rail. Check the secondary caps in your PSU.
__________________
...Their plight, in fact is even worse, they don't realize that they're cantonists, they think they're free men. What a slavery that is - to confuse slavery for light, and bitter darkness for bright light.
-Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneersohn
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 04:26 PM   #5
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizar: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,798
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Some SuperMicro boards may just be re-badged stuff!

One that I saw looked no better than some $45 POS. Would make Topcat cry!
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU

Looks like I have a laptop that kills a desktop PC!

Received on November 4, 2019:
MSI GF63 Thin 9SC-649US


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 08-09-2013 at 04:28 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 05:08 PM   #6
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,896
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Motherboards are motherboards nowaday... Aside from the quality of the caps and FETs, they all revolve around fairly mature BIOS implementations and standardized chipsets with unified driver architectures. Not like back in the 80s when you had to take ROM chips back to the distributor to get flashed to fix some major errata.
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 09:37 PM   #7
dhamrin
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Bad wording on my part. Originals were Sanyos 6.3v 1000mf 8x14mm, replaced them with new Nichicon 8x15mm and a few 8x13mm of another brand (board not with me at moment). Which was another question I had: How much does height of a cap matter? I usually try to match exact dimensions, but I was in a jam and substituted a few 13mm tall caps for the 14mm originals as noted above.

Thanks guys for the ideas on what to check next.
dhamrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 09:47 PM   #8
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,919
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

There are a lot of caps that appear to be installed backward. It looks like the shaded section under the cap should be negative, but the positive lead of most of the black caps is on the shaded side.
lti is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:21 PM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,088
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhamrin View Post
How much does height of a cap matter?
It almost never matters. As long as you match the specs of the new caps to the old ones (i.e. capacitance, voltage, ESR, and ripple current), then all should be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhamrin View Post
Any ideas what I should try next?
Post some more pictures of the area where the 2 bulged caps are. It looks to me as if the MOSFET next to them is damaged, but I can't tell for sure.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 02:10 AM   #10
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
There are a lot of caps that appear to be installed backward. It looks like the shaded section under the cap should be negative, but the positive lead of most of the black caps is on the shaded side.
Agreed. Those are definitely reverse-polarised. Re-recap it and put the caps in the right way.

Out of curiosity, why did you replace the original Sanyos? They are a very reliable cap manufacturer, and shouldn't have failed.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 09:48 AM   #11
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,625
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

umm, the popped cap is in backward.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 12:13 PM   #12
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,982
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
There are a lot of caps that appear to be installed backward. It looks like the shaded section under the cap should be negative, but the positive lead of most of the black caps is on the shaded side.
I agree too.
__________________
Muh-soggy-knee
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:52 PM   #13
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,088
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by lti View Post
There are a lot of caps that appear to be installed backward.
Good catch.
I think I have done one too many ASUS and old AsRock motherboard recaps .
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 09:54 PM   #14
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: SuperDot Motherboard Recap Repopped Caps

^
Same here. I've done it to all but 1 or 2 of my ASUS boards.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?