Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2020, 09:51 AM   #1
davg
Badcaps Veteran
 
davg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: NL
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

Hi to all I've not been in the forum for a while nice to see some old faces still around.. Looking for some guidance I may have bricked my router. My wrt54gv2 Linnksys was not able to accept a pvn or at least I couldn't find any way to add one?? so I updated the firmware with dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic. I couldn't find anything in that firmware to allow me to set up a VPN so I decided to reinstall the latest firmware update from Linksys. something went wrong for when I did a reset I get a blinking power light and no internet access. I can't access my router setup through the web browser which I think means a corrupted firmware. I have done a lot of reading on the issue tried the 30-30-30 reset no go I can ping my router's address after assigning a static ip to my computer and I tried updating the firmware with Tftp utility but no go the progress bar goes blue and stops just before the end where it times out and gives the error 'unable to get a response from the server". From what I read if I can ping the server I should be able to access it through the web browser any thoughts on that? Is there some setting I should change in the adapter options? I have followed the steps laid down on dd-wrt.com web sight but can't seem to get anything to work. This sight has some very knowledge people in many fields I hope routers is one and can shed some light on the issue. Thanks in advance

Last edited by davg; 06-07-2020 at 09:53 AM..
davg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 11:00 AM   #2
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,826
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

Have you tried what's listed here ? https://lancelhoff.com/how-to-fix-a-...inksys-router/
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:57 PM   #3
davg
Badcaps Veteran
 
davg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: NL
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
Have you tried what's listed here ? https://lancelhoff.com/how-to-fix-a-...inksys-router/
Yes I have thanks for the reply diif I get (connect request failed) I know timing is critical but I tried it couple dozen times same response
davg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 05:50 AM   #4
davg
Badcaps Veteran
 
davg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: NL
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

I tried connecting my router directly to my modem/ to my computer and I can access the web setup. The firmware version shows Linksys v1.02.7 seems to be in tack I can make changes to it in the setup like set to default change my wireless and security settings etc. but when I try the firmware upgrade it fails?? I still have a blinking power light and the router is now sending IP address since I set back to default. The blinking power light seems to indicate that the router is taking an update but it got stuck in doing so if that makes any sense? Doing a hard reset doesn't clear it? I don't know if backup and restore would work if I had the good sense to make a backup before this happened? Is there someway or somehow I can get or make a backup file? Or if in fact that would even work?
davg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 07:34 PM   #5
davg
Badcaps Veteran
 
davg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: NL
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

Disregard the top statement it was a false reading there was another Linksys router attached to my system that I am using as an extender? Still unable to access my bricked router using any of the methods I have read
davg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 01:37 PM   #6
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,502
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

connect a ttl to the router and do an nvram clear. see if that helps.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 03:31 PM   #7
davg
Badcaps Veteran
 
davg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: NL
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
connect a ttl to the router and do an nvram clear. see if that helps.
Tried that but cant get it to connect it times out
davg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 05:02 AM   #8
davg
Badcaps Veteran
 
davg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
City & State: NL
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

Recovered using a Jtag and instructions found on the dd-wrt.com web sight. Erased the nvram powered off and powered on then flashed firmware using tftp and after three tries good to go. Thanks again for the help I get from this forum
davg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 03:52 PM   #9
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,502
Default Re: Linksys wrt 54gv2 blinking power light

been there and clearing the nvram worked for me. Glad it worked for you too!
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:10 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?