Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2021, 04:02 AM   #1
Wilykat
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Macintosh Quadraa 630 dead power supply

Apple part 614-0037. I got this recently very cheap and it doesn't power up at all. The motherboard was checked with a known good power supply, it worked so this one needs a recap.


Top cover with the label. There's rust but it seems to be on the outside only, no rust inside or on the PCB


The board after I took it out of the case. The 110v mains unplugged from this board, unlike Antec which soldered the AC wires into the PCB.

I did Google for info but I ran into a problem: all the info I could find on recapping similar power supply, those were Antec brand with different capacitors. Mine is Dyna Corp but uses the same Apple part number. Google didn't turn up anything useful other than air filter. I guess I got a rare variant?

With no existing guide I figured I should document some stuff while I worked on this.

After I desoldered all the caps (except for 2, one on COB the vertical board with chips near DC out rails, and one honkin' big cap near AC input) and there's residue that looked like 3 or 4 caps had leaked by the DC out rails


Caps list, rating, and size

Primary and secondary is obvious. DC out is the cluster of caps next to red/yellow/black wires for DC out to computer. COB is the one vertical board near the DC out wires.

If I could remember where, I can do ESR testing on some. My cheap ESR tester is unreliable with caps over 1000uF
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3930.JPG (741.7 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3931.JPG (759.4 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3933.JPG (673.0 KB, 37 views)
File Type: png swajkZ2.png (120.2 KB, 39 views)

Last edited by Wilykat; 07-27-2021 at 04:05 AM..
Wilykat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 01:40 PM   #2
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Macintosh Quadraa 630 dead power supply

Judging by all those nice Thomson CSF box film capacitors, that P/S must be on the order of 35 years old. So those output caps are probably all bad. Cap technology has probably progressed to the point that using parts newer than UCC LXZ series or Nichicon PW series risks having stability problems. If still available, I'd even suggest UCC LXV series or Nichicon PS series. When dealing with compensated control loops, there is such a things as output capacitors that are too good.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
****************************
Laughable prediction, https://principia-scientific.com/doc...l-most-people/ ; Fully Vaxxed May 2021; Viva CallSJ "5K" (actually 3.26 miles), 9/19/21, 51:19; 11.8 miles, 3:50:16, 9/4/21
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 05:36 PM   #3
Wilykat
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Arrow Re: Macintosh Quadraa 630 dead power supply

Macintosh Quadra 630 came out 1994 so under 30 years. Either Dyna Corp used old stock or those caps were still used in mid 90s.

Should I replace those or leave it? And what about the big one? It seems to be glued on but it seems to be only on AC mains, likely after bridge rectifier so it probably operated at 120Hz to smooth out the mains AC wave.
Wilykat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 12:11 PM   #4
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Macintosh Quadraa 630 dead power supply

Mea Matha Goofa. The big input 'lytic is from Rubycon, a good vendor, and those are not stressed to the same degree as the output capacitors.

I didn't notice it yesterday, but that Dyna Comp P/S is flyback topology, which is really stressful on output capacitors. It's recognizable by the seeming lack of an output inductor (ignoring the little ferrite rod inductors). The "transformer" is actually a coupled inductor in which the primary winding functions as the output inductor. It may not be visible, but there should be a thin spacer creating a gap in the "transformer" core. Perchance is that 8-pin IC on the primary side a UC3842?
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 07:10 AM   #5
linuxguru
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: Macintosh Quadraa 630 dead power supply

NCC LXFs were known to leak electrolyte out of the bottom bung and fail. LXZ, LXV, KZE or KY should be durable replacements. In a pinch, KMG and KMH should work.
linuxguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?