Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2019, 10:29 AM   #41
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,133
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

Are you sure about those pin numbers? Pin 1 is the 5 volt supply voltage, Pin 2 is ground, pin 3 is the output
But heating never did turn on the fans? It does seem odd that neither fans runs, FAN1_ON and FAN2_ON commands come from ic2103 and should output around 3v to D980 & D970 Fan1 (heatsink) also needs audio at the speakers to turn on the heatsink fan.
Have you tried a processor reset (page49)

Last edited by R_J; 06-12-2019 at 10:36 AM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:01 AM   #42
playman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Iceland
Posts: 203
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

My apologies, pin 3 gave me +5v and pin 1 gave me +2v.
Nope fans never turned on, just went straight into shutdown.
Yes I did a processor reset when I fixed the FR channel the first time.
It seems to be running colder after the bias adjustment.
playman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:11 AM   #43
playman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Iceland
Posts: 203
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

The current heat after 10 minutes running on medium(ish) volume.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190612_170821.jpg (1.05 MB, 4 views)
playman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:16 AM   #44
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,133
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

There are two test points near ic2103 (TP59, TP60) you could check the voltage on them, they should be around 3 volts for fan ON, 0 would be fan OFF
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:47 AM   #45
playman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Iceland
Posts: 203
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

They both gave me 0 voltage, even with the fan test shorted (if that matters)
playman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:57 AM   #46
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,133
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

The fan test would have no effect, these two test points are direct from the processor, so for some reason the microprocessor is not outputing the fan on command.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 12:11 PM   #47
playman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Iceland
Posts: 203
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

So I guess the only way to fix it is to replace the processor?
playman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:27 PM   #48
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,133
Default Re: Harman Kardon AVR 270

I don't know if that would fix it, You may need to crank it up for a while to see if they will come on, I really can't be sure.

Last edited by R_J; 06-12-2019 at 01:47 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?