Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2019, 09:37 PM   #1
captainKKK
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
City & State: Katy, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: Low
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 73
Default Dell Vostro 270 Inspiron 660 Motherboard 0478VN 11061-1 DIB75R 478VN

I have tried every trick in the book to get ANY response out of this motherboard. Known good PS, CPU, and DDR3. No response with push of the power switch...nada, nothing. All peripherals, removed exc kybd, mouse, and VGA. Jumped the power supply at the plug and the cpu fan runs at high speed, but there is no post and no sounds... Magnified inspection of components reveals no physical damage nor evident heat markings. Ideas?
captainKKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 02:25 AM   #2
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,170
Default Re: Dell Vostro 270 Inspiron 660 Motherboard 0478VN 11061-1 DIB75R 478VN

Make sure you have a compatible CPU in the socket and that the CMOS battery is ok (>3V). Yes both those can prevent a motherboard from turning on with some specific models.
You tried shorting the pins of the motherboard for power switch manually? Do you have 3.3V on those pins?
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #openboardview@irc.freenode.net
piernov is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 05:46 PM   #3
captainKKK
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
City & State: Katy, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: Low
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 73
Default Re: Dell Vostro 270 Inspiron 660 Motherboard 0478VN 11061-1 DIB75R 478VN

I know the power switch is good, and I tried running a screw driver over the exposed start pins. I had another good MB that started and ran without a battery in it, but this one did not. I have not tried a new battery......I will check for voltage on the power pins. I found several places on the board where the mosfets had 3 to 12 volts and the fuses I tested are good. I took the good running CPU and memory out of the good MB and put in the bad board and nothing changed. The CPU and memory from the dead MB runs fine in the Good MB... I even reflowed the Southbridge and no change. Thanks for the reply

Last edited by captainKKK; 05-29-2019 at 05:49 PM..
captainKKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?