Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2018, 08:54 AM   #1
stevo1210
Badcaps Veteran
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4,011
Default BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Hi Everyone,

I've been out of the PC scene for a while since becoming a photographer, and not very aware of what the latest tech is. Only today I found out that there was many versions of the Core i7 and i5 CPU - I was under the impression Intel didn't make a new CPU since i7 launched in 2011, LOL.

Anyway, I have a computer with a Core i7 46-something. It's a Haswell model says my brother who built it for me. I use it for Adobe Lightroom since I am a photographer, and it works well enough for my needs. I do not plan to upgrade it anytime soon apart from some larger size HDD's and a larger SSD if I have the funds as 120GB SSD is kinda small for my needs.

My question is about the graphics however. I have pretty bad eyes so I would like to purchase a 43" IPS monitor from either Viewsonic or Dell Ultrasharp (Currently I use 3x 21.5" HP ZR2240w IPS displays). These units however are 4K resolution and my graphics card is an ATI Radeon 6870 which was passed down to me. It has Displayport and HDMI outputs however I do not think it supports 4K resolutions.

I would like to buy a budget (either new or used under $150 AUD) graphics card that supports these monitors, what brand and model would you guys suggest from either Nvidia or ATI?

Thanks.
__________________
Don't find love, let love find you. That's why its called falling in love, because you don't force yourself to fall, you just fall. - Anonymous

Last edited by stevo1210; 05-17-2018 at 08:55 AM..
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:31 PM   #2
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,757
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

so much irony...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:41 PM   #3
stevo1210
Badcaps Veteran
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4,011
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
so much irony...
Yeah I know it’s a bit of a noob sounding post, but I genuinely do need help with choosing a card, lol.

Priorities a bit off I suppose. 43” display over upgrading vital bits of that computer. But in my defence I do have a friend who will buy the triple monitor setup off me for good money to put towards a new display.

Last edited by stevo1210; 05-17-2018 at 12:42 PM..
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 01:36 PM   #4
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

ati is now amd so check if new drivers are at least still available
I found this https://superuser.com/questions/8945...rted-by-the-tv
where someone says "the HD 6870 will run 4K (3840 x 2160 ) resolution at 30 Hz which is good for desktop work."

Last edited by R_J; 05-17-2018 at 01:45 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:05 PM   #5
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,172
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

It took some hunting but I was able to get a Geforce GTX 970 used for $150 (USD) a year or so ago on ebay. It was a spiffy Zotac Chinese-exclusive OC'd one too. Something like that fit the bill?
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:49 PM   #6
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
ati is now amd so check if new drivers are at least still available
I found this https://superuser.com/questions/8945...rted-by-the-tv
where someone says "the HD 6870 will run 4K (3840 x 2160 ) resolution at 30 Hz which is good for desktop work."
I would not call 30Hz ok for desktop use, too laggy.
But apparently it can be gotten up to 45Hz, that might be ok for long term use.
Source: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/commun...splays.226759/
Tool: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/T...-Clock-Patcher
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Last edited by Per Hansson; 05-17-2018 at 02:51 PM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 03:25 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Too laggy for viewing/editing photos?

Last edited by R_J; 05-17-2018 at 03:32 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 04:08 PM   #8
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,967
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

If you want it to 'just work', get nVidia...

If you want to spend hours fiddling with weird bugs, finding out about things that don't work properly which fanboys will insist are actually features, then get AMD.
__________________
...Their plight, in fact is even worse, they don't realize that they're cantonists, they think they're free men. What a slavery that is - to confuse slavery for light, and bitter darkness for bright light.
-Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneersohn
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:44 PM   #9
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,089
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
If you want it to 'just work', get nVidia...

If you want to spend hours fiddling with weird bugs, finding out about things that don't work properly which fanboys will insist are actually features, then get AMD.
I have to agree with that. My workhorse machines all run Quadro GPU's, I never have screwy driver issues or other sordid bugs. I lost my love for ATI when AMD gobbled them up....not that ATI was ever known for stellar driver support, but they got worse after the AMD merger....
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 07:41 PM   #10
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,967
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I have to agree with that. My workhorse machines all run Quadro GPU's, I never have screwy driver issues or other sordid bugs. I lost my love for ATI when AMD gobbled them up....not that ATI was ever known for stellar driver support, but they got worse after the AMD merger....
You're completely right. Before they were swallowed up by AMD, they were the quaint, odd, eccentric company which you dabbled with, sometimes to your delight, and sometimes to your dismay.

Had a customer buy a Quadro P4000 for design software... He specifically said not AMD...
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:40 PM   #11
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
I would not call 30Hz ok for desktop use, too laggy.
30Hz is more than enough for still frame video editing.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 04:02 AM   #12
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,412
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Too laggy for viewing/editing photos?
Quote:
Originally Posted by brethin View Post
30Hz is more than enough for still frame video editing.
I don't agree.
I switch my monitor to 23.976Hz when I watch movies.
That's unbearable in Windows, the mouse cursor even lags visually.
30Hz is better but still far too long away from a smooth experience IMO.
Your mileage may vary however.
I'd just buy the monitor and see, if it's not good enough then just upgrade the graphics card?
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 06:03 AM   #13
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,172
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I have to agree with that. My workhorse machines all run Quadro GPU's, I never have screwy driver issues or other sordid bugs. I lost my love for ATI when AMD gobbled them up....not that ATI was ever known for stellar driver support, but they got worse after the AMD merger....
I'll agree on that. Only 1 of my workstations has ATI, and's that's only because it's an ancient AGP rig (Supermicro X5DAL) with the fastest AGP card ever made (ATI HD4670 by HIS), and that made right before the AMD buyout. Otherwise, I've run Nvidia and never looked back.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 06:41 AM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,444
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

the issue here may be bandwidth,

VGA could do 4k, but i bet hdmi wont.
if your using digital cables you probably need a multi-channel serup.
i'v seen these, but never paid any attention to them.

personally i stick with RGB & sync, your not limited to a few pre-selected settings that way.
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 08:33 AM   #15
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,967
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
I'll agree on that. Only 1 of my workstations has ATI, and's that's only because it's an ancient AGP rig (Supermicro X5DAL) with the fastest AGP card ever made (ATI HD4670 by HIS), and that made right before the AMD buyout. Otherwise, I've run Nvidia and never looked back.
I think the highest 3xxx AGP series card is faster than the 4670.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
the issue here may be bandwidth,

VGA could do 4k, but i bet hdmi wont.
if your using digital cables you probably need a multi-channel serup.
i'v seen these, but never paid any attention to them.

personally i stick with RGB & sync, your not limited to a few pre-selected settings that way.
HDMI, no, but DisplayPort yes.

Last edited by mockingbird; 05-18-2018 at 08:34 AM..
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 09:18 AM   #16
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,172
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
I think the highest 3xxx AGP series card is faster than the 4670.
That's debatable... my (potentially incorrect) understanding was that the 4670 was faster, but it took more CPU brunt for it to do things (if the CPU wasn't up to snuff, the card wouldn't perform).

Not a bad card either way though. The only part that sucks is that you have to use the driver from HIS... the generic driver doesn't work, period. Must be something to do with the PCIe to AGP converter chip or something
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 04:32 PM   #17
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
I don't agree.
I switch my monitor to 23.976Hz when I watch movies.
That's unbearable in Windows, the mouse cursor even lags visually.
30Hz is better but still far too long away from a smooth experience IMO.
Your mileage may vary however.
I'd just buy the monitor and see, if it's not good enough then just upgrade the graphics card?
Watching moves is not the same as editing still video (pictures). 30Hz is fine for editing still video.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 12:10 AM   #18
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,368
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

30Hz is only fine if you can get by with the laggy feeling of the mouse cursor. 60Hz is the minimum for me, unless it's just watching video/movies.

I see a lot of AMD bashing - the quality of drivers has signficantly improved in the past few years while you've been away. I would choose the card by price and availability, not by fanboyism. For instance, a RX 560 will definitely do what you need, uses very little power and it is very cheap.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!

Last edited by Th3_uN1Qu3; 05-19-2018 at 12:12 AM..
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 12:44 AM   #19
stevo1210
Badcaps Veteran
 
stevo1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: Eastern coast
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 4,011
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

So I did find some cards from nvidia that might work? 1030, 1050 and I think 730Ti support 4K? I also believe HDMI 2.0 supports 4k? Can someone confirm? Thanks!
stevo1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 01:04 AM   #20
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,350
Default Re: BUDGET 4K graphics cards

you want to support ALL these monitors at once? There are Displayport -> 3xHDMI adapters. If the card has a second display port, that should be direct 4k support on the 43" monitor

or, if the monitors have full displayport, they might be able to be chained. You might need a card with some serious output. like multi DP
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me

Last edited by Uranium-235; 05-19-2018 at 01:06 AM..
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?