Acer AL2216W Dead!! Here we go!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer AL2216W Dead!! Here we go!!

Well, the monitor gave up the ghost last night.

I found BADCAP searching the 'net to find a solution.
    I FINALLY got the darn thing open, and sure enough, there was a capacitor that had swelled, and is presumably bad.
    So the plan is:
    -Buy the appropriate caps (there are eight. Do I need to replace the big 120uF 450V one?
    -Remove the old, replace with the new ones
    -Rebuild the monitor
    -Save 200 dollars!

Sound about right?
    I will check out DigiKey etc and put in an order.
    I am a ham radio operator so I have some LIMITED electronic experience...
    More to follow!!
    Attached Files

Re: Acer AL2216W Dead!! Here we go!!

Depends -- what does the monitor do/not do? ("gave up the ghost" can mean a variety of things). Do you get a power light? Does it go into power save after 2-3 seconds of no signal even if there is a signal present? Does the screen flash its logo and then go out 2 seconds later? Does it work for awhile and then go off by itself? Judging from the photos, the caps is definitely a good starting point, but may want to check a few other things while you have it open (fuses, inverter transistors, etc.).

To answer your questions -- leave the 450V one unless it is visibly bad. It doesn't look too crowded on that board so diameter may not be critical, but definitely double check the height of your replacements. Since you are ordering from Digikey, a popular choice is to get Panasonic FC or FM series as replacements. If you're unsure, post a list of the caps and someone will help double check against Digikey P/N's.

Comment

I fix 5 Acer AL2216W LCD monitor already, most problem same you had. I just replace the bad capacitor had swelled only is will working again.
      if safe side you just replace 5 caps on inverter side only (not 120uF 450V & 2 small caps above big cap)

Comment