Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2019, 06:11 AM   #1
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,880
Default Inspiron 530 bios dump needed

as the title says.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 08:54 AM   #2
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Inspiron 530 bios dump needed

Here you go,one of these is the right bios. Please read this post about the different motherboard versions: https://www.dell.com/community/Deskt...e/td-p/4732156
Attached Files
File Type: zip 530 530s (ICH9) 1.0.18.BIN.zip (2.03 MB, 2 views)
File Type: zip 530b 530Sb (ICH7) 1.0.2.BIN.zip (2.03 MB, 1 views)
File Type: zip Vostro 400 1.0.15.BIN.zip (2.03 MB, 0 views)
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 10:00 AM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,880
Default Re: Inspiron 530 bios dump needed

thanks.
is that ICH9 rom original?
there is a hacked one floating around that is fucked because the MAC address is missing.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 11:00 AM   #4
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,910
Default Re: Inspiron 530 bios dump needed

I think you're supposed to enter the MAC address from the original BIOS (or a label on the board if the original BIOS is completely unreadable).
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 12:53 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,880
Default Re: Inspiron 530 bios dump needed

enter it where??
if these arent dumped from working boards then they are useless because that data must be in them for the o.s. to start.

btw, i dont know where you got those 4M files - the boards only have a 2M chip on them!!
i think i'll scap this dell shit - dell are nothing but a pain in the ass.

i have been through this bullshit with dell products before with missmatched bios sizes, critical data in the flash to save a few cents on an eeprom etc.
fucking company should fold and save us all a lot of problems.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 04:44 PM   #6
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Inspiron 530 bios dump needed

EDIT: My apologies to you stj, i fucked up.I was using some dell bios extractor software and it pulled the bios from a random folder in my temp files,i never noted what size the bios should be,just assumed it was ok.Ive attatched the right ones this time...hopefully.

I found some more info, according to this dell article there are 10 different 530 variants: https://www.dell.com/support/article...347263?lang=en

From a post over at bios-mods the different bios versions for each one:

530: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 16 Mb(G33/ICH9 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.18)
530a/530c: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 8 Mb(G33/ICH9 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.18)
530b/530d: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 8 Mb(G31/ICH7 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.2)

530s: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 16 Mb(G33/ICH9 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.18)
530sa/530sc: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 8 Mb(G33/ICH9 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.18)
530sb/530sd: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 8 Mb(G31/ICH7 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.2 )

Vostro 200: BIOS chip (NVRAM) 16 Mb(G33/ICH9 chipset, uses BIOS v.1.0.16)

https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thre...Project?page=7
Attached Files
File Type: zip 530 530s 2MB Bios.zip (450.0 KB, 2 views)
File Type: zip 530b 530sb 1MB Bios.zip (382.5 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by SMDFlea; 05-04-2019 at 05:10 PM.. Reason: F*&%$d Up
SMDFlea is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?