Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2009, 11:27 AM   #41
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
What is the proper way to test the Transistors? I noticed they have 3 legs each. I tested with my Ohm meter and there are differences but I would like to know specifically what Im looking for and how to properly test to determine defective ones.
Check this page.
__________________
There are 10 kind of people in this world: those that understand binary, and those who don't.
  • ASUS ROG Maximus IX Code
  • Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz
  • 16gb GSKILL TridentZ RGB DDR4-3200
  • 1 M2 SSD + 2 WD Blue 1TB (Mirrored)
  • Windows 10 Pro x64
  • GeForce GT1050
    2 x Acer KA240H + 1 Vewsonic VP2130 21 (a cap replacement job )
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 11:46 AM   #42
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
What is the proper way to test the Transistors? I noticed they have 3 legs each. I tested with my Ohm meter and there are differences but I would like to know specifically what Im looking for and how to properly test to determine defective ones.
Testing out of circuit with MM set on Diode Check
Red probe on B and Black on C, Should read about 600
Red probe on B and Black on E, Should read about 600

Testing for shorts between pins set MM to Buzzer and check
B + C
B + E
C + E
Probes both ways
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 01:51 PM   #43
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Thank you for the info. I tested and found bad transistors. I ordered a few kits from Ebay and after repair the Monitor is working just fine. A friend gave me 2 more 19" monitors and I have also repaired them. I found several cold solder joints too and fixed those also. Thanks to all of you who helped and if I can ever do anything for you just ask. I will try my best.
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 02:37 PM   #44
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
Thank you for the info. I tested and found bad transistors. I ordered a few kits from Ebay and after repair the Monitor is working just fine. A friend gave me 2 more 19" monitors and I have also repaired them. I found several cold solder joints too and fixed those also. Thanks to all of you who helped and if I can ever do anything for you just ask. I will try my best.
Congratulations!!!
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 04:34 PM   #45
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill
Congratulations!!!
I second that. And for helping us, you can help all of the members & readers just posting your experiences. Your experience here might provide advice to new members, or not so new members that had not fixed this particular model. I guess that would be enough.
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 09:33 AM   #46
Geordieboy
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

I have just aquired an E153FPb which was showing a green light but no display. After reading this thread I tried the fuse PF751 and that has brought the backlights on. However there is no display. Enthused by moving a stage forward I did a bit more googling to see if I could find any similar experiences and came across the folowing:- http://www.elbase.ru/files/cd/monito.../BENQ%20FP531/ This is an index of Benq technical sheets, diagrams and fault finding flowchart for the Benq FP531. The E153FPb is based on the Benq FP531 (denoted by the b). There are some variations depending on the LCD manufacturer (eg. LG, AU) This may prove useful to anyone visiting here in the future. I am currently trying to source the components I need locally and if the thread is still running when I've got them I will leave an update.
Geordieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:02 AM   #47
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geordieboy
I have just aquired an E153FPb which was showing a green light but no display. After reading this thread I tried the fuse PF751 and that has brought the backlights on. However there is no display. Enthused by moving a stage forward I did a bit more googling to see if I could find any similar experiences and came across the folowing:- http://www.elbase.ru/files/cd/monito.../BENQ%20FP531/ This is an index of Benq technical sheets, diagrams and fault finding flowchart for the Benq FP531. The E153FPb is based on the Benq FP531 (denoted by the b). There are some variations depending on the LCD manufacturer (eg. LG, AU) This may prove useful to anyone visiting here in the future. I am currently trying to source the components I need locally and if the thread is still running when I've got them I will leave an update.
Welcome Geordieboy
Badcaps does not close Threads its always glad to recieve new Info at any time
Look forward to your update
bob
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 08:56 AM   #48
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

I have a Dell E173FPs. Symptoms: Green power light just flashes quickly. No picture at all. I found 2 swollen caps and replaced them, still same thing. Green light just flashes quickly. The Power and Inverter board is model # IP-35135A (photo attached.) Anyone have any ideas what may cause this? I am looking for cold solder joints in the meantime. I have found it a good idea to just go ahead and resolder the transformers anyway as cold solder joints are so common. Srry if this is considered hijacking the thread.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IP-35135A.jpg (137.0 KB, 148 views)
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 10:28 AM   #49
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
I have a Dell E173FPs. Symptoms: Green power light just flashes quickly. No picture at all. I found 2 swollen caps and replaced them, still same thing. Green light just flashes quickly. The Power and Inverter board is model # IP-35135A (photo attached.) Anyone have any ideas what may cause this? I am looking for cold solder joints in the meantime. I have found it a good idea to just go ahead and resolder the transformers anyway as cold solder joints are so common. Srry if this is considered hijacking the thread.
Suspect shorted transistors in the inverter. A picture (larger if possible) of the bottom of the board will help us identify them. I'm curious, please post the picture even if you locate them yourself.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:21 AM   #50
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Im having trouble uploading better pics due to size. Not sure how to make them the right size. lol
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:35 AM   #51
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
Im having trouble uploading better pics due to size. Not sure how to make them the right size. lol
I use Hamrick Software's Vueprint. (http://www.hamrick.com/upg.html) It makes cropping and reducing resolution of pictures easy. I'm sure there are other products that work as well or better; it's the one I'm familiar with.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:58 AM   #52
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

I downlaoded the trial but it watermarks. lol, anyway I could email the pics to ya?
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:56 AM   #53
EGuevarae
Badcaps Veteran
 
EGuevarae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Chiriaco Summit, CA - near the AZ-CA Border
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
Im having trouble uploading better pics due to size. Not sure how to make them the right size. lol
Try Fotosizer. You drop in an image, specify a new size either in percentage of the original or in pixels, and it resizes it either replacing your original or saving it to another place (or the same place with another name). It is what I sometimes use when I have to meet size (either in Kb or in pixel dimensions) reqs.
Eduardo
EGuevarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:53 AM   #54
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

will do, ty very much
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:00 AM   #55
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by eguevarae
Try Fotosizer. You drop in an image, specify a new size either in percentage of the original or in pixels, and it resizes it either replacing your original or saving it to another place (or the same place with another name). It is what I sometimes use when I have to meet size (either in Kb or in pixel dimensions) reqs.
Eduardo

Wow, ty, very very easy to use and free, cant ask for more than that! lol Pics are attached as you asked ofr.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg board (5)_1991x1493.jpg (311.9 KB, 175 views)
File Type: jpg P6280002_1991x1493.jpg (313.7 KB, 121 views)
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:30 AM   #56
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
Wow, ty, very very easy to use and free, cant ask for more than that! lol Pics are attached as you asked ofr.
I've edited the picture of the bottom of the power supply. The first step is to measure the output voltage. The red lead of your meter goes to the pins at the upper right I've circled in red, the black to the pins circled in black. This should be done with the power supply hooked to the logic board of the monitor. It may be easier to probe from the top.

I also circled two ICs in blue. If these were shorted it could cause the problem. What is the part number of the ICs?

PlainBill
Attached Images
File Type: jpg E153FPb-back-1.JPG (317.6 KB, 182 views)
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:45 AM   #57
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Voltages are solid 10 volts testing each pos with all 3 neg. Same 10 volts on all.

Numbers on IC's are the same. Each has 4501GM and S05034 (might be 505034, hard to tell they are so small)
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:56 AM   #58
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

I did not have the bulbs hooked up when testing voltage incase that makes a difference but it was hooked to the logic board.
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #59
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakytiki4u
Voltages are solid 10 volts testing each pos with all 3 neg. Same 10 volts on all.

Numbers on IC's are the same. Each has 4501GM and S05034 (might be 505034, hard to tell they are so small)
10 volts is a problem. It should be 5 volts. If you were using an analog meter it might be on the wrong range (user error), but if it's a digital meter and set on the 20 volt range, that's an accurate reading. 10 volts may have fried the logic board. BIG trouble.

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:52 PM   #60
freakytiki4u
Coolest Member
 
freakytiki4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
City & State: Live Oak
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 98
Default Re: Dell E153FPB Back Light problem

I checked again on 50 volt range with analog meter, still reading 10 volts, checked on 10 volt range reads maxed out, just a hair over 10 volts AC

Last edited by freakytiki4u; 11-05-2009 at 01:54 PM.. Reason: typo
freakytiki4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?