Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2008, 07:37 PM   #41
leekh
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: TAICON Capacitors?

oic. but somehow i am still a little worried about my current biostar socket 478 board. it is armed with HMs and KZGs on the VRMs. the rest of the board is armed with OST RLPs and the super-small RLGs without vents. 2 chemicon polymers are located near the AGP slot though.

currently using at silverstone ST400 psu, with 2x 12cm fans, 1 intake and 1 exhaust. the psu fan (also 12cm) also act as exhaust fan. cpu is a pentium 4 2.8GHz northwood.

not sure how long this system can last. but so far still so good.
leekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 04:55 AM   #42
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: TAICON Capacitors?

Armed is a good word for a ticking bomb.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 11:39 AM   #43
abuthemagician
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: TAICON Capacitors?

Not to dredge up an old thread (mods you can kill my comment if you like) but I have 5 or 6 Netgear FSM7326P POE network switches with the 12mm x 8mm 6.3v 1000uf taicon caps that are green in color and every one is bulging.
abuthemagician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 01:13 PM   #44
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: TAICON Capacitors?

Had a bunch of ASRock K7VT4A+ Socket A boards (Via KT400 chipset).
all the 6.3V 1000F caps were those ugly green Taicon HD's..

one of those boards was my own one from around 2004 or 2005.. got replaced by a P4 2.6GHz box because it became kinda unstable. i put it back in the box and forgot about it.

got a couple of those in for recapping and remembered that i had that very same board and went searching for it.
found it buried in the basement, opened the box and found every single one of those Taicons had popped..

i know that none of them was visibly bad back then (otherwise i would have had a clue why it was becoming unstable), so in conclusion, they must have all popped just from sitting around unused for years..
__________________
The USA have Barack Obama, Bob Hope, Stevie Wonder and Jonny Cash.
We have Angela Merkel, no hope, no wonder, no cash.
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?