Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2011, 03:08 PM   #21
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

I'd wait for someone else to chime in and confirm.
If it's near the CPU socket, it's probably on the CPU core voltage (VRM out).
http://www.badcaps.net/store/product...products_id=77
if not.. ignore this post
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 05:34 PM   #22
fourbyfour4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

I'm replacing them with Nippon 6.3V 820uF KZG UltraESR.
Thanks
fourbyfour4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 05:39 PM   #23
fourbyfour4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

Sorry I didn't see your post Scenic, yes it is near the CPU socket. You think the
United Chemi-Con 820uF 2.5v Ultra Low ESR Polymer would be a better replacement ?
fourbyfour4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 06:30 PM   #24
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

KZG are a defective series. High failure rates.
It's all over the forum.
.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 06:48 PM   #25
fourbyfour4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

Is the Chemi-Con 820uF 2.5v Ultra Low ESR Polymer with 2.5v Ok to replace a
820uf - 4v - KZV with 4v ?
fourbyfour4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 07:35 PM   #26
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

If it is in Vcore then yes.
Vcore voltage is less than 2.5v.
.
If not in Vcore then you need to check the circuit voltage and make sure it is 2.5v or less.
.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:36 PM   #27
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

I have the same system here with Nippon Chemi Con KZV 820F 4v caps that are 8x25mm.
I have not been able to find a data sheet, the only thing I've found is the attached document that tells you to ask for another document "Ask Engineering Bulletin No756 in detail"
They go like this for lower impedance rating: KZG > KZJ > KZV

So it's a safe bet they are better than ESR 0.011 and ripple rating 2710
I think it's best to go solid polymer and the best rating you can find, it's VCORE caps so it's safe to go down in voltage rating...

On mine only one has failed, it's the first cap in focus in the picture, sadly I only have 10mm polymer caps in stock so I'll have to make an order to fix this system up...
EDIT: Just found the attached .DOC file, it affirms my polymer plans nicely
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PICT4564.jpg (611.3 KB, 118 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Nippon_Series.pdf (35.1 KB, 38 views)
File Type: doc Discontinuation_of_KZJ_and_KZV_Series.doc (57.5 KB, 34 views)
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 07:07 AM   #28
fourbyfour4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

Yes Per Hannson that is the same system I have. I ordered the polymer caps, still waiting for them. Thanks to everyone for there help.
fourbyfour4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:30 PM   #29
yyonline
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
City & State: Pennsylvania
My Country: USA
Posts: 685
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

I've only come across one Dimension 8400 with bloated KZV out of maybe 10 of them I've recapped. I replaced them with United Chemicon PSA 2.5V 680uF. Worked fine afterwards.
yyonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:37 PM   #30
fourbyfour4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

Update: Installed cap and everything seems ok for now. This is my own pc, the problem seemed to happen when I installed a 1gb memory stick. I have disposed of that memory.
Thanks for the help.
fourbyfour4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:06 PM   #31
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: Dimension 8400 (yes I searched)

I'm providing an update on the system I was fixing too.
I ordered caps from Big Pope (Samxon X-CON ULR 820uF 2.5V D8mm) however as this was just before christmas I did not get them in time, owner wanted it fixed before christmas...

So I decided to try and put some Sanyo Oscon 560F 4v caps there I had in stock.
System booted fine and seemed to work nicely after my recap, so I gave the system back.
Later that evening she called and said it would not boot up, turned out the VGA card was loose, damn Dell and their crappy plastic chassis...

Well, then I didn't hear from her for a week or so, but then she came back again, said it would not boot, I tried it at work and it booted right up, so I sent her home with it again...

Later that week she said it would bluescreen, and that it had done this before the recap too, ok, I'll have a look I said, and also she said that it now turns off completely after about 2 hours...

I took it home, found the reason for the bluescreen: 0x8086
http://support.dell.com/support/topi...&isLegacy=true

The sudden shutdown was harder to trouble shoot, all fans where working...
Shitty mobo does not support temperature monitoring of any kind as far as I could find out, but the 3.4Ghz P4 CPU sure isn't known to be light on power consumption...

But cutting a long story short I found it was the PSU causing it, it's fan was running and I had already opened it when I had it over the first time, Ltec and Cheese caps where ok (OST=Cheese in Swedish)
Just for curiosity sake I desoldered all caps in the PSU today and tested them, they all checked out fine, and PSU looks fine too...
Well, I guess you can't get to the bottom of every problem, atleast it's working great now with it's new PSU
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PICT4568.jpg (860.5 KB, 40 views)
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?