Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 07:57 PM   #1
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 601
Default iMac G5 17 inch

I just picked it up, shows no video if i let it warm up and try to restart i get video, i noticed to bloated caps on the mobo, I was thinking of ording a kit from bad caps iam kinda scared i might mess it up, but anyways I want you input on the video problem, i put up a youtube video http://youtu.be/EiA21-IlJxk
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iPhone3GS 149.jpg (407.7 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg iPhone3GS 150.jpg (425.5 KB, 36 views)
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 10:48 PM   #2
Toasty
Badcaps Veteran
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: East Coast, USA
Line Voltage: 220-221
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,145
Default Re: iMac G5 17 inch

Notorious for video problems. Neck hurts from that video.



Recap mobo and PSU. Do PSU first.
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 07:21 AM   #3
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 601
Default Re: iMac G5 17 inch

well I ordered the kit from badcaps, so far ive only soldered cold joints on sega genesis systems i bought in a lot and an ocassional bad cap or 2 on a power supply or video card, wish me luck in not fucking up.
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:06 AM   #4
Toasty
Badcaps Veteran
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: East Coast, USA
Line Voltage: 220-221
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,145
Default Re: iMac G5 17 inch

Kit does not include caps for PSU...
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 10:52 AM   #5
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 601
Default Re: iMac G5 17 inch

oh yikes? did they use poor caps in the supply? is it easy to take the supply apart and check?
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:05 AM   #6
Toasty
Badcaps Veteran
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: East Coast, USA
Line Voltage: 220-221
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,145
Default Re: iMac G5 17 inch

Worse caps in the supply.

That's why I said in Post #2 "Recap mobo and PSU. Do PSU first."
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 12:45 AM   #7
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 601
Default Re: iMac G5 17 inch

well so far so good, i bought an extra parts lot and have a spare psu, need to replace the bloated caps on it, then i will swap it for my original. but the imac has been performing flawlessly for a month.
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?