Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ASRock board with bad caps

Hi there!

Got an ASRock mobo at a relatives place which I discovered upon removing a malfunctioning network card has leaking capacitors. I looked at the caps (I'm a noob to this to please excuse me) and they are of light-green colour with a gold strip down the side and have 1000uf written on the side, but I can't really give much more info on it. I will not have access to the machine until possibly monday, so for the moment I can't do anything.

I have narrowed it down to this board:
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=K7V88&s=462

Has anyone else had any leaking on this board and can help me work out what capacitors should be looking for?

Re: ASRock board with bad caps

As this is an Asrock motherboard, I am taking a guess that the caps are either made by Taicon or OST. Since they are light green in colour, I'd say it's more likely Taicon caps as OST are either black or purple in colour. I don't know the values so that isn't much help, sorry.
    Don't find love, let love find you. That's why its called falling in love, because you don't force yourself to fall, you just fall. - Anonymous

Comment

Thanks for your response stevo. Are Taicon caps known to fail? I'll be able to get back round the Monday to check more so in detail, I assume I'll need to know the voltage? Anything else?

Comment

Taicon caps are known to fail, there have been quite a few reports about Taicon caps failing. What's strange is that they are a subsidary of Nichicon. And yes you will need to know the voltage to get correct replacements.

Thanks.
        Don't find love, let love find you. That's why its called falling in love, because you don't force yourself to fall, you just fall. - Anonymous

Comment

Rightio. Checked the machine this time armed with a torch.

They are Taicon caps, 1000uf 6.3v.

What's it best to replace these with, and how much do you think it will cost?