Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2010, 05:22 PM   #41
bonney
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Leicester UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

I can get both P2804BDG and P5504EDG
bonney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 05:47 PM   #42
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/sh...ad.php?t=21285 tells that

the FETs or transistors are OK to use.
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 09:24 PM   #43
gybruss
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonney View Post
I can get both P2804BDG and P5504EDG
Please tell me where?
gybruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 09:28 PM   #44
gybruss
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by dt2rz View Post
Replaced the following parts on the inverter board:

-10 caps with 100uf 25v 85*c 2000 hour Chemicon SMG

-Q3 & Q4 with FDD6690, i can't find original P2804BDG

-Q5 & Q6 with FDD6685, i can't find original P5504EDG

Result is still the same. I tried checking the CCFLs one by one and all are

lighting up fine. Can somebody guide me in testing the power supply. Here

are some more pics of the power supply...
i am not sure, but i looked at the specs for the fdd6690 and does not match the specs i think this is the problem. wrong fets.
gybruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:11 AM   #45
bonney
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Leicester UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

dt2rz on the two fues's on the inverter whats the in voltage and the out voltage
bonney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 01:28 PM   #46
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonney View Post
dt2rz on the two fues's on the inverter whats the in voltage and the out voltage

I don't really know how to check properly, can you tell me how? Here's a picture of the DMM i'm using.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg acer24in 031.jpg (820.2 KB, 47 views)
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:03 PM   #47
bonney
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Leicester UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Set it up how you did to check the power from you power board

read this http://www.doctronics.co.uk/meter.htm#digital
bonney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:19 PM   #48
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

With monitor powered off, put DMM to 20M ohm setting i get 0 ohm on both fuse.
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:05 PM   #49
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by dt2rz View Post
With monitor powered off, put DMM to 20M ohm setting i get 0 ohm on both fuse.
Set the DMM to 200 ohms, not 20 Megohms.

PlainBill
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:14 PM   #50
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill View Post
Set the DMM to 200 ohms, not 20 Megohms.

PlainBill

DMM set to 200 ohms, both fuse read 00.4
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:38 PM   #51
bonney
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Leicester UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

now test the fuse with power on
Attached Images
File Type: jpg acer24in%20031.jpg (360.9 KB, 32 views)
bonney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:50 PM   #52
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonney View Post
now test the fuse with power on
f2 = 30.7
f3 = 1.2
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:08 PM   #53
bonney
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Leicester UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

can you check does the power go through the blue coils then to the fuse?
bonney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:14 PM   #54
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonney View Post
can you check does the power go through the blue coils then to the fuse?
How to check these? What DMM setting to use and where to probe black & red wires? Sorry I'm a rookie.
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:20 PM   #55
bonney
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
City & State: Leicester UK
Posts: 74
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

ok before we do that can you do the fuse's again but both ends
bonney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 04:23 PM   #56
severach
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: Michigan
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 982
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Flip the inverter upside down and hook the lamps up in reverse order. Does the dim part switch sides? Does the part that was formerly dim appear to light up properly?

N Channel FDD6690A seems a satisfactory replacement for the P2804BDG. The hard part is finding a good replacement for the P-Channel P5504EDG. Too far out of spec and the inverter will shut down. Parts that do run can run hotter than the originals.

Niko-Sem parts are easy to get in China.
severach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 06:45 PM   #57
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by severach View Post
Flip the inverter upside down and hook the lamps up in reverse order. Does the dim part switch sides? Does the part that was formerly dim appear to light up properly?

N Channel FDD6690A seems a satisfactory replacement for the P2804BDG. The hard part is finding a good replacement for the P-Channel P5504EDG. Too far out of spec and the inverter will shut down. Parts that do run can run hotter than the originals.

Niko-Sem parts are easy to get in China.

There is no dim part, all the lamps lights up together. Test it one by one, also lights up. Anyway i tried your suggestion and all lamps lights up like before. I'm wondering why the monitor goes to standby after 'no signal' shows up in screen. Other folks have the green light all the time, just the backlights shutting off By the way, sorry for hijacking your thread.

Last edited by dt2rz; 11-01-2010 at 06:49 PM..
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 12:08 PM   #58
mathog
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,650
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by dt2rz View Post
I'm wondering why the monitor goes to standby after 'no signal' shows up in screen.
Every monitor I have does that. It is a power saving feature. At least it is if there is really no signal - if it does that when there is video going into it then there is a problem.
mathog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:18 PM   #59
mathog
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,650
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by dt2rz View Post
I'm wondering why the monitor goes to standby after 'no signal' shows up in screen.
Can you get into the menu before it shuts off? Some monitors will stay lit if you press the menu button right after it is powered on, even with no video signal. Others (for instance some Viewsonics) will not go into the menu if there is no video signal and will blank anyway.
mathog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 06:24 PM   #60
dt2rz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Default Re: Acer AL2416 AL2416W 24" 1920x1280 LCD Monitor

I can not access the menu...
dt2rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?