Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2019, 11:24 AM   #21
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

It says 49uF
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 11:40 AM   #22
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,900
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

The TNY277PN must be working since it generates the 5V output. In your case a little low at 4.74V.
However it also generates the voltage to run IC808 and IC902 via another winding from the same transformer (T902) which is then rectified and smoothed by D904 and C912 but only measures 10.8V.
IC808 requires a minimum of 11.5V and typical 12.5V to turn on which it's not getting. The voltage at D904 is too low which I think may be the reason that it is not running IC808 to boost the voltage to 380V
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.

Last edited by dick_barton; 10-20-2019 at 11:49 AM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 11:52 AM   #23
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,900
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbdy View Post
It says 49uF
Can you check it's ESR?
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 12:11 PM   #24
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Nope,can only change the whole capacitor
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 12:20 PM   #25
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,900
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

It would be worth trying that.
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 12:21 PM   #26
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Still the same 10.80V

Faund the ESR meter,it says 0,75 ohm,0.7% loss

Last edited by nbdy; 10-20-2019 at 12:34 PM..
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 12:58 PM   #27
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,900
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Sorry but I'm now out of ideas at the moment. Perhaps others can offer further advice.
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 01:13 PM   #28
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

thx for now ..

If you got new ideas let me try :-)

Any other advice is welcome 2
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:44 AM   #29
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Any one with some idea ???

Does any one know where to buy another PSU ... Looked on ebay there is none ...

thx
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 07:39 PM   #30
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,787
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

When checking voltages in the primary side, use the large (100f/450v) capacitors negative lead for ground.
Check the voltage across the large capacitor, in standby the voltage should be around 325vdc. When you connect S/B to +5v that voltage should go to around 380vdc. check it. and if it does not change, check pfc ic, using hot ground check the vcc voltage on pin8 of ic909, it should be around +20vdc
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:20 AM   #31
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

@R_J : Got 325V on the capacitor in both states with the S/B on 5V or not ...

The IC909 has 10V on pin 8 ..
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 11:01 AM   #32
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,787
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

The PFC circuit is not being turned on. If it was, the voltage on the main cap would icrease. I suspect you are not getting 20v VCC, this VCC voltage also supplies ic902 pin6.
The 10 volts on IC909 pin 8 is supplied by it's internal startup cell. Check the voltage on Q903, The emitter should have ~25vdc, the base is controlled by optocoupler IC905. When IC905 is ON, pin4 will be low turning on Q903 which supplies the +20dc for IC909 and IC902 VCC

Last edited by R_J; 10-26-2019 at 11:11 AM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 11:49 AM   #33
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

I have 13.3V on Q903 ...
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 01:33 PM   #34
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,787
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbdy View Post
I have 13.3V on Q903 ...
Is this the voltage on the emitter? This voltage needs to be higher, check that C912 is not bad, also ZD910 and ZD903 could be bad and zenering at too low a voltage

Last edited by R_J; 10-26-2019 at 01:38 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 12:46 AM   #35
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

The C912 Shows 49uF ESR 0.54 Loss 0.8%

The ZD910 shows 720 in one direction, 6V reading on board or -6V turning the probes

The ZD903 shows 717 in one direction, 4.3V reading on board or -4.3V turning probes

Diodes desoldered from board for testing ...

Could it be that the IC901 is not OK

Last edited by nbdy; 10-27-2019 at 12:53 AM..
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 12:00 PM   #36
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,787
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

If ic901 was bad you would not have any +5v standby voltage. You can't check the zener point of zener diodes with a meter. Have you tried replacing C912? Have you checked if R918 is ok?
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 01:14 PM   #37
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

The R918 showing 4R7 ...

The C912 replaced,all the same ...
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 01:50 PM   #38
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,787
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

If your +5v standby is ok. disconnect thge s/b line from 5vstb, now check the voltage across IC906 pins 3&4. There should be some voltage there. Now connect the S/B line to +5v and see if that voltage goes to 0 volts. It should if the optocoupler is working.

Last edited by R_J; 10-27-2019 at 01:54 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 02:03 PM   #39
nbdy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Sv.Nedelja,Bestovje
My Country: Croatia
Line Voltage: 220VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 133
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

I have 970mV on both states with S/B on 5V,and without the S/B on 5V ...

and without the ENA to 5V connected ...

With ENA to 5V all the same - 970mV

So i think changing the optocupler maybe be the solve ... will try tomorrow ...

Last edited by nbdy; 10-27-2019 at 02:05 PM..
nbdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 02:23 PM   #40
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,787
Default Re: Philips 32PFL3606/58

Check the voltage across IC906 pins 1&2, that will tell you if the internal led is being turned on or not. Use the same method for testing by disconnecting and reconnecting S/B to +5v
You can also monitor the voltage across C912 and try shorting IC906, pins 3&4 to see if the voltage changes and goes up to around +20v
There could be a fault wiith Q908 not turning on the optocoupler, when S/B is connected to +5v, Q908 drain should go to 0 volts, the same with Q907

Last edited by R_J; 10-27-2019 at 02:36 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?