Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2019, 05:12 AM   #21
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

When I get the new E-Rom ic chip from the machine manufacturer

I will post what happens when I put it in the PLC units that I have that worked from the one good E-Rom ic chip from one of PLC

That I bought from a seller off of EBay


I will also find out if the auxiliary input and output cards work correctly or not

I will let you all know
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 07:21 PM   #22
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

I have an update

I got the E-Prom ic chip and install the E-Prom into the PLC and it would not work would not load the program

So I called the machine manufacturer and they said that the auxiliary output card is definitely bad and the input card is ? able

They also told me if either card is bad it will have CPU fault light with be ON and that it would not load the program

If after I get the auxiliary one input and one output cards and it still will not come ON then they will have hook it to a computer and see what error message codes are coming up

This hole episode has been a pain in the *** to get things working again

I was able to get both cards new so this is a good thing on EBay same seller for both cards

So I let you know what happens next when I get the two cards if it wants to play write

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-18-2019 at 07:23 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 08:41 PM   #23
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

Take apart the input and output card and look for damage, the surge may have come in there and cooked something. Input cards usually have opto-isolators.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 09:02 PM   #24
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

I did I can not find anything that is blow but I kind a traced the header where the input and output cards plug in and there is a chip that most of the pins go to on both cards

These output cards are hooked to relays the input have optic sensors

I have an idea to what happened to PLC

The power switching regulator ic chip at the output to the transformer shorted and put full power to the transformer and power surged PLC controller board and the auxiliary input card is the one that all LEDs are ON and on the output card has one LED on this is with out any hook to either card or the main input and output terminals

What I am going to with the optic sensors and see if I check them and see if they work or not
as far as the output devices is another story I do not have a transistor tester this is not going to be easy to do but I am going to check the relay to see if they work or not

On the PLC controller board the output lights and input light most of them are ON

What makes think this way the week before I had problems getting the PLC to come ON now if this had not happen I might not look at it this way

Like I said earlier I might be wrong with what I have come up with

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 10-18-2019 at 09:26 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:10 AM   #25
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

Well I got the two auxiliary cards it still will not work and now I will have to send all of the PLCs back to the machine manufacturer for them to see why the E-Rom
IC chip

So let’s see what they tell me what is wrong with the E-Rom ic chip or why the PLC does not want to work correctly with E-Rom
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 05:11 PM   #26
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

Update

I have a report from the machine manufacturer
I removed some information that I can not share

I will let you know how it went when I get back the PLCs back from the machine manufacturer and I put one of the PLC back in the machine
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 539381D0-3E67-4AA4-A28B-5019FAC87904.jpeg (115.8 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 11-08-2019 at 05:17 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 06:54 PM   #27
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

I did talk the technician who work on the PLCs and ask him what was the problem with the E-Rom ic chip programming but he would not give any more detail other than to say he did not understand why it would not work

I am not going push the issue because they did check all the PLCs I had sent and they did tell me that one of them has a bad output relay and did not charge me that much to check them all for me which saves me a lot of time doing this myself also there turn around time was very fast which I was very pleased about

One note

I did to talk to the technician about what I want done and that I had bought the PLCs and the auxiliary cards of off EBAY and I told the RRA service department the same thing ( before I send them the PLCs and the auxiliary cards to them )

( One of my bosses just wanted me to just box them all up and tell just fix them ) <— not that easy if you want certain things done

I ask them to do this because they do not sell this PLC any more all they could offer me was a retro fit PLC but it is not just plug and play and they want $6000.00 just for the PLC plus installation which I did not get a quote for

PLCs
One less than $30.00 used
One at about $55.00 used
One of them $50.00 used
One at $75.00 used

One auxiliary input card. $150.00 new
One auxiliary output card $150.00 new

Check four PLCs $200.00

Total $710.00

One note

I did also buy a new E-Rom for $1200.00
But from what the technician said that he fixed the problem with the E-Rom ic chip that was in the original PLC so if this is case then I have a spare one

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 11-08-2019 at 07:53 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 12:02 AM   #28
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Insanely Hot Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-126VAC@60hZ/200A
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,498
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

Dump the backup E-ROM chip for backup purposes
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

For computer parts, go to Newegg
OR
Amazon.

For electrical stuff(pushbuttons, capacitors, etc), use Digikey
OR
Mouser.

Windows 10!? Oh yeah, that sorry excuse of an operating system that spies on you 24/7/365!

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

TVs repaired: Toshiba 32AV500U
Stereo Receivers brought back to life: 1(Fisher RS-1056)
Stereos/Stereo receivers to recap: Fisher RS-1056


TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 02:30 PM   #29
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Allen-Bradley SLC 500 PLC —> CPU fault what does mean

Update

I have the machine up and running

The machine manufacturer fix our problem and we are back road again

One note they would not tell me exactly what the programming problem was and I was not going to push for an answer because they did fix the problem with the E-Rom chip that was in it to being with

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 11-12-2019 at 02:34 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?