Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2019, 01:25 AM   #1
wozzie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Lake Munmorah NSW
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Toshiba 46HL900A

I have a Toshiba tv which i got working a year ago had a bad led . Every so often it would get stuck on standby with green led on , so i would unplug from power and it would reset and work fine . Now it wont reset any more standby light goes from red to green and wont come out no matter weather you use remote or power button . The inverter board and backlights work when forced to start . The only thing not working is Blon .
Any help much appreciated , hoping its not an eprom problem .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 008.jpg (536.3 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 009.jpg (473.2 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 010.jpg (500.5 KB, 4 views)
wozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 02:44 AM   #2
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

If BL-on is not coming on AND the TV is not starting, it's a main board issue most likely. Unfortunately there's no resources on this TV, so you're better off looking for a replacement board if it's not terribly expensive. Perhaps look for a similar TV with a broken screen so you'll have other spare boards as well, again: if you consider the price point to be worth it.
Could be a bad cap on the main board itself causing this. What you can try is heating up the board and see if changes anything. You can go pretty hot, don't worry.
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 07:13 AM   #3
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,130
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

sounds like it's the eeprom, but could be a bad cap. Try freezing the eeprom (can of air upside down), then turn the TV on. See what happens.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 04:17 PM   #4
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,418
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

Quote:
Originally Posted by capleaker View Post
sounds like it's the eeprom, but could be a bad cap. Try freezing the eeprom (can of air upside down), then turn the tv on. See what happens.
+100
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 12:49 AM   #5
wozzie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Lake Munmorah NSW
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

Thanks for the replies will try heat first and then freeze the eprom.
wozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 11:30 AM   #6
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

its BGA issue on MB.

Last edited by Diah; 01-08-2019 at 11:33 AM..
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 04:58 AM   #7
wozzie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Lake Munmorah NSW
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

Thanks for the suggestions . Is the BGA chip the one with the heat sink on it ?
Have tried heat didn't make any difference . Will try testing from BLON pin for shorts and try and work backwards .
wozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 05:00 AM   #8
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

Yes, the main IC is BGA. Did you remove the heatsink when heating it ? How much heat did you use ? Just curious.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 02:23 PM   #9
wozzie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Lake Munmorah NSW
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

I didn't remove heat sink but it was getting lose,not sure how hot but heat gun set to 300c and just waving it around the chip .
wozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 02:40 PM   #10
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,585
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

Removing the heatsink would've been a good idea, but from what I've tested so far, trying to reflow a TV main board never works like it does on a laptop for instance...even when done with an actual reballing machine - when we tried it on a TV board, it no longer turned on at all which it did before. Thankfully it wasn't me who did it, but my colleague - you can imagine he had no choice but to dish out and buy a replacement board out of his wages...not pretty.

You may push on with the EEPROM just for the heck of it. If the light stays on red all the time and doesn't seem to want to start at all, even from the panel keys, it's most likely a dead CPU from what I've encountered and yes, I did try reflowing several of these scenarios - didn't work, at least not for me...can't say it NEVER works though...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 04:06 PM   #11
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: Toshiba 46HL900A

we have years ago in this forum about same MB of Toshiba and it was hot conversation .. i cant find it.. the suggestion was not professional way .to pack it for 10-15 minute at kitchen oven (not air flow oven) keep it cool with out touching it then remove.

also keep in mind that TOSHIBA firmware made to vestel boards are rubbish too.. Toshiba TL series 3D smart TV make same issue you have with flashing factory firmware it go to life again
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?